Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
WOW! I now have family and friends beating down the door wanting more! I only changed one thing and added two. I changed the sugar to 1 cup sugar and 2/3 cups dark brown sugar. I added a tsp of vanilla and a pinch or two of ground cinnamon. That's all I changed! WONDERFUL AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I have eaten Sweet Potato pie all my life because I have lived all my life in the south. Because it always tasted like pumpkin pie I never made one. I made this pie and noticed that the recipe didn't call for vanilla so I used vanilla buttter nut flavoring and I also used fresh nutmeg. It was so goooood!!!! Best thing was it didn't taste like pumpkin pie. Everyone that tried it loved it too. I will make this for Thanksgiving! This will jow be a family favorite. My neighbor said it was the best sweet potato pie that he has ever eaten. He is 74 and has eaten many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I tried this southern sweet potato pie as I was born & raised in Arkansas. I could have had 5 stars except it was missing vanilla. Not bad though...not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made one of these pies as deep dish to test the recipe. Wonderful. Took it to the family and they raved, now I will make 4 more for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm searching for the *perfect* sweet potato pie and while this one tasted pretty good, I'm sorry it just wasn't it. For one thing, it was REALLY sweet, and I love sweets, but it was almost like sweet potato candy, and I even added a little extra sweet potato when I saw how thin the batter was. The consistency was really light almost like custard and I was looking for a denser pie. I won't say it's not edible, it's just not exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was an easy, easy sweet potato pie recipe. I have made it about 20 times and I get the same reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this pie for thanksgiving and NO ONE liked it. i usually make the pumpkin like sweet potato pie and it is always a winner but this I would give it no stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodfrk594
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This recipes is A MAZING! as must try. This recipe has been inducted into my holiday recipes, any day recipes. . I will be making this today. I saw that one member added 1 cup of white sugar and 2/3 cups of brown sugar. I worked that into my recipe also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodfrk594

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I tried this one a few weeks ago and OH MY GOD. Now that is southern sweet potato pie. My family loved it and I will be making it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Finally a Sweet Potato Pie my husband "really" raves about! It brings out the flavor of the potato, not overpowers them like many based on a Pumpkin recipe. For those family members who like sweet potato casserole and the marshmallow topping, I just do a little marshmallow creme lattice across the pie instead of whipped creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States