Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I tried this southern sweet potato pie as I was born & raised in Arkansas. I could have had 5 stars except it was missing vanilla. Not bad though...not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made one of these pies as deep dish to test the recipe. Wonderful. Took it to the family and they raved, now I will make 4 more for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
WOW! I now have family and friends beating down the door wanting more! I only changed one thing and added two. I changed the sugar to 1 cup sugar and 2/3 cups dark brown sugar. I added a tsp of vanilla and a pinch or two of ground cinnamon. That's all I changed! WONDERFUL AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this pie for thanksgiving and NO ONE liked it. i usually make the pumpkin like sweet potato pie and it is always a winner but this I would give it no stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was an easy, easy sweet potato pie recipe. I have made it about 20 times and I get the same reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I have eaten Sweet Potato pie all my life because I have lived all my life in the south. Because it always tasted like pumpkin pie I never made one. I made this pie and noticed that the recipe didn't call for vanilla so I used vanilla buttter nut flavoring and I also used fresh nutmeg. It was so goooood!!!! Best thing was it didn't taste like pumpkin pie. Everyone that tried it loved it too. I will make this for Thanksgiving! This will jow be a family favorite. My neighbor said it was the best sweet potato pie that he has ever eaten. He is 74 and has eaten many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I tried this one a few weeks ago and OH MY GOD. Now that is southern sweet potato pie. My family loved it and I will be making it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Finally a Sweet Potato Pie my husband "really" raves about! It brings out the flavor of the potato, not overpowers them like many based on a Pumpkin recipe. For those family members who like sweet potato casserole and the marshmallow topping, I just do a little marshmallow creme lattice across the pie instead of whipped creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Review 2: I've been making this pie since the initial review. It's the best Fall/Holiday pie ever. MUCH better than pumpkin in my opinion. I only modified it slightly. I believe as written, It is a LITTLE too sweet (and like I said, I am a sweet-aholic). So, I brought the white sugar down to 2/3 C, included 2/3 C of brown sugar. Added a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Then, before it goes in to the oven I sprinkle a very fine layer of brown sugar on top. I use a no-roll pie crust with this recipe and it is DELICIOUS. Cool it and add some fresh homemade whipped cream on top. THIS is a recipe you can pass on for generations. Review 1: I may have to review after this has had time to completely cool... but as it stands right now, it may be a TAD too sweet for my tastes (and I like things sweet). I don't know if it is the addition of the 1/4th cup light corn syrup, but it's kind of oily? It still tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this pie on 11-26-08, my family loved it. I was hosting my 2nd Thanksgiving dinner, and I received so many praises about this pie. I read some of the other reviews and decided to use their advice. I added 1 tsp. Vanilla and used 2/3 of brown sugar. I also added a 1 tsp of nutmeg. Boy, this recipe was easy to follow. The pie was delicious. I let it back for 55 minutes. The pie wasn't too dark or too light. I still received calls or praise the day after Thanksgiving. Thank you for all of your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States