Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I tried this southern sweet potato pie as I was born & raised in Arkansas. I could have had 5 stars except it was missing vanilla. Not bad though...not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Made one of these pies as deep dish to test the recipe. Wonderful. Took it to the family and they raved, now I will make 4 more for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
WOW! I now have family and friends beating down the door wanting more! I only changed one thing and added two. I changed the sugar to 1 cup sugar and 2/3 cups dark brown sugar. I added a tsp of vanilla and a pinch or two of ground cinnamon. That's all I changed! WONDERFUL AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this pie for thanksgiving and NO ONE liked it. i usually make the pumpkin like sweet potato pie and it is always a winner but this I would give it no stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was an easy, easy sweet potato pie recipe. I have made it about 20 times and I get the same reviews. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I have eaten Sweet Potato pie all my life because I have lived all my life in the south. Because it always tasted like pumpkin pie I never made one. I made this pie and noticed that the recipe didn't call for vanilla so I used vanilla buttter nut flavoring and I also used fresh nutmeg. It was so goooood!!!! Best thing was it didn't taste like pumpkin pie. Everyone that tried it loved it too. I will make this for Thanksgiving! This will jow be a family favorite. My neighbor said it was the best sweet potato pie that he has ever eaten. He is 74 and has eaten many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I tried this one a few weeks ago and OH MY GOD. Now that is southern sweet potato pie. My family loved it and I will be making it a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Finally a Sweet Potato Pie my husband "really" raves about! It brings out the flavor of the potato, not overpowers them like many based on a Pumpkin recipe. For those family members who like sweet potato casserole and the marshmallow topping, I just do a little marshmallow creme lattice across the pie instead of whipped creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Review 2: I've been making this pie since the initial review. It's the best Fall/Holiday pie ever. MUCH better than pumpkin in my opinion. I only modified it slightly. I believe as written, It is a LITTLE too sweet (and like I said, I am a sweet-aholic). So, I brought the white sugar down to 2/3 C, included 2/3 C of brown sugar. Added a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Then, before it goes in to the oven I sprinkle a very fine layer of brown sugar on top. I use a no-roll pie crust with this recipe and it is DELICIOUS. Cool it and add some fresh homemade whipped cream on top. THIS is a recipe you can pass on for generations. Review 1: I may have to review after this has had time to completely cool... but as it stands right now, it may be a TAD too sweet for my tastes (and I like things sweet). I don't know if it is the addition of the 1/4th cup light corn syrup, but it's kind of oily? It still tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this pie on 11-26-08, my family loved it. I was hosting my 2nd Thanksgiving dinner, and I received so many praises about this pie. I read some of the other reviews and decided to use their advice. I added 1 tsp. Vanilla and used 2/3 of brown sugar. I also added a 1 tsp of nutmeg. Boy, this recipe was easy to follow. The pie was delicious. I let it back for 55 minutes. The pie wasn't too dark or too light. I still received calls or praise the day after Thanksgiving. Thank you for all of your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States