Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was great! I gave it to a coworker who is leaving us. He's from the south and he said it was some of the best he'd ever had. I told him it was made with northern hospitality [: I did add cinnamon to it. Because I wanted too. This = good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TechKat
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is wonderful! Great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was a pretty good recipe.I did make a few alterations as I went along to suit my family's tastes. I added a Tbsp of Vanilla right off the bat to get rid of the canned sweet potato taste. I slowly added sugar until I got to 1 cup and was happy with the sweetness after the corn syrup went in. I did not have the oily residue on the top that others had so I don't know about that. I also made the filling in my food processor which gave me a silky smooth texture and NO lumps from the canned sweet potatoes. My kids attacked it right out of the oven and it did not last one night. I would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I'm searching for the *perfect* sweet potato pie and while this one tasted pretty good, I'm sorry it just wasn't it. For one thing, it was REALLY sweet, and I love sweets, but it was almost like sweet potato candy, and I even added a little extra sweet potato when I saw how thin the batter was. The consistency was really light almost like custard and I was looking for a denser pie. I won't say it's not edible, it's just not exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My husband is southern, this is his favortite dessert so I decided to try it. He absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is now a staple at my family's Thanksgiving meal and is the only recipe my dh has everre-requested. Don't worry about how runny it looks when you pour it into the crust...it firms up nicely. None of us at my house are big fans of pumpkin pie so this is a wonderful alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I usually make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving, but I decided to make sweet potato pie instead and I am so glad I chose this recipe!!! I did make a few small changes - instead of 1/2c butter I used 1/4; in addition to the nutmeg I added 1/2t of cinnamon and about 1/8t of ginger, a dash of allspice and a dash of cloves; and used 2/3c of brown sugar with 1c of white sugar and added about 1T vanilla extract. All of my guests enjoyed it and complimented it over and over again. Thank you so much for this recipe! Needless to say, this will be replacing the spot on the table where the pumpkin pie used to be :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was my 1st ever attempt at sweet potato pie & it turned out pretty good. I like how the top of the pie kinda carmelized. It was a bit sweet & "oily" but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this pie on 11-26-08, my family loved it. I was hosting my 2nd Thanksgiving dinner, and I received so many praises about this pie. I read some of the other reviews and decided to use their advice. I added 1 tsp. Vanilla and used 2/3 of brown sugar. I also added a 1 tsp of nutmeg. Boy, this recipe was easy to follow. The pie was delicious. I let it back for 55 minutes. The pie wasn't too dark or too light. I still received calls or praise the day after Thanksgiving. Thank you for all of your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Review 2: I've been making this pie since the initial review. It's the best Fall/Holiday pie ever. MUCH better than pumpkin in my opinion. I only modified it slightly. I believe as written, It is a LITTLE too sweet (and like I said, I am a sweet-aholic). So, I brought the white sugar down to 2/3 C, included 2/3 C of brown sugar. Added a dash of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the batter. Then, before it goes in to the oven I sprinkle a very fine layer of brown sugar on top. I use a no-roll pie crust with this recipe and it is DELICIOUS. Cool it and add some fresh homemade whipped cream on top. THIS is a recipe you can pass on for generations. Review 1: I may have to review after this has had time to completely cool... but as it stands right now, it may be a TAD too sweet for my tastes (and I like things sweet). I don't know if it is the addition of the 1/4th cup light corn syrup, but it's kind of oily? It still tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States