Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
My husband kept beging me to make a sweet potato pie, so I began was looking for a delicious sweet potato pie recipe. One that would satisfy him, as well as for family holiday dinner. This was amazing! The pie was light , sweet and scrumptious! I did substitute brown sugar for white, I also added ground ginger, cinnamon, and a teaspoon of fresh lemon juice. I also noticed that vanilla was missing from this recipe, so my next time I will add vanilla. This will now be my family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qnsqt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Add some pecans nd holly cow that makem gooooooood! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wow! This is so good! I've never had sweet potato pie before, and never wanted to. I don't like pumpkin so figured I wouldn't like this. But, we were studying Alabama with the kids and thought we'd try the Southern favorite. This is a great recipe!! I took the advice of others and used 1 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup brown sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch or so of cinnamon. I think that made it even better. Then, because I worried it would taste too much like sweet potato and not a sweet, yummy pie, I stacked marshmallows on top after it was done baking and broiled it until the mallows were perfectly browned. I also made candied pecans by sauteing them with butter, brown sugar, maple syrup and coarse sea salt. Cooled that, chopped them and sprinkled it on top when served. The BEST pie we have ever had!! WOW, I'm making it again tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I made some changes to give it my personal touch. Instead of corn syrup, I used maple syrup. I also used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 2/3 cup regular sugar, as there was plenty of sweetness from the other ingredients. I added a touch of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla too, as recommended by some of the other reviews. Thanks for sharing this one. I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My family love this pie! I tweaked the recipe by splitting the sugar equal parts white and brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla flavoring, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. This is the best sweet potato pie, very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!My mother's ingredients are different from this one,and she made bangin'pies over the yrs,but this is a good substitute for her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just returned from Iraq missed Thanksgiving so Christmas had all the food you can think of. I made this pie a definite hit. Will have to make it again and again. Love it.. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Well here it is Fall again an time for sweet potatoes, pumpkins and squash. I made this pie again today and it is just as good as I remembered it. I think this is the absolute top recipe for this pie. I have been making them since I got married (48 yrs.) ago and this recipe is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States