Southern Sweet Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Add some pecans nd holly cow that makem gooooooood! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wow! This is so good! I've never had sweet potato pie before, and never wanted to. I don't like pumpkin so figured I wouldn't like this. But, we were studying Alabama with the kids and thought we'd try the Southern favorite. This is a great recipe!! I took the advice of others and used 1 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup brown sugar, added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch or so of cinnamon. I think that made it even better. Then, because I worried it would taste too much like sweet potato and not a sweet, yummy pie, I stacked marshmallows on top after it was done baking and broiled it until the mallows were perfectly browned. I also made candied pecans by sauteing them with butter, brown sugar, maple syrup and coarse sea salt. Cooled that, chopped them and sprinkled it on top when served. The BEST pie we have ever had!! WOW, I'm making it again tomorrow! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous recipe. I made some changes to give it my personal touch. Instead of corn syrup, I used maple syrup. I also used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 2/3 cup regular sugar, as there was plenty of sweetness from the other ingredients. I added a touch of cinnamon and a dash of vanilla too, as recommended by some of the other reviews. Thanks for sharing this one. I already have requests to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
My family love this pie! I tweaked the recipe by splitting the sugar equal parts white and brown sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla flavoring, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of ginger. This is the best sweet potato pie, very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!My mother's ingredients are different from this one,and she made bangin'pies over the yrs,but this is a good substitute for her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just returned from Iraq missed Thanksgiving so Christmas had all the food you can think of. I made this pie a definite hit. Will have to make it again and again. Love it.. thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Well here it is Fall again an time for sweet potatoes, pumpkins and squash. I made this pie again today and it is just as good as I remembered it. I think this is the absolute top recipe for this pie. I have been making them since I got married (48 yrs.) ago and this recipe is the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Love, love, love this recipe!!!! I have never been a fan of sweet potato pie, could never really find one I like. I only made this one for a friend that loves them. I can now say I love sweet potato pie. :) the only thing I did was some of the changes I read here. I changed the 1 2/3 cups sugar to 1 cup of white and the 2/3 was brown sugar. I also add a little bit of vanilla and cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States