Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This recipe yielded a nice breakfast bread, and it was a great recipe for my 12 year old to use as an introduction to baking. The second time we made this, we took the suggestions of others and added alot of fruit. I used equal amounts of golden raisins, dried apple, dried cranberries, and apricots. The result was a much tastier bread that was gobbled up quickly. If you choose to use extra fruit, make sure that it is dried because fresh or canned fruit will make this bread a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Mmmm, did this smell good while it was baking. Very good taste. Used reg. raisins instead of golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
All I can say is, "yum." Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is a really good recipe and a nice change from your usually loaf breads. I've made it several times for potlucks and have had numerous requests for the recipe. I also did half brown and white sugars. I'm planning of making some to give away for Christmas. Very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This was realy very good-moist and flavorful-I too used half white and half brown sugar,added a touch of dark rum and a little orange juice. Baked it exactly as directed (it did need the full 70 minutes) and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
YUM! These loaves are just FULL of the nuts and raisins, and are very moist. Such a really great combination of subtle flavors! I made a few substitutions with great results: I used pumpkin pie spice for nutmeg, 1/3 white sugar & 2/3 light brown, half oil & half applesauce, and used baked sweet potatoes: bake on parchment because they're messy! Prick potatoes, bake about 1hr 40min at 350F. The flesh pretty much pulls away from the skin - put the flesh in a bowl and give it a quick stir with a wisk and it's ready to go. I baked mine in mini-loaf pans (about 5-1/2" x 3-1/2" x 2") - this recipe makes 4 loaves at about 1 generous cup batter per loaf - for 50 minutes. Perfect! These will be holiday gifts for sure (and plenty for us, too!). For a zippy version, I might try dried cranberries in place of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I've made tons of recipes from this site, and most are really good, but this one blows them all away. It has tons of flavor, great consistency, etc. The only thing I changed from the directions was to add almonds as well (since I was low on pecans) and to add dried cranberries, sultanas, etc., instead of just raisins. Either way the bread itself is really top notch; what you add to it is just icing on the cake, so to speak. Fabulous recipe; will be one of our family's favories I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I usually never make loaves, but this was great. My co-workers gobbled it up. It is moist and flavorful. I didn't use raisins, just a few extra pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
If you like pumpkin bread, then your socks will be knocked off with this Southern Sweet Potato Bread with pecans. The blend of sweet potato, pecans, and sweet spices in this moist loaf makes your mouth water!!! This bread is a great for a Fall brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Exellent tasting bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States