Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was awesome I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I made muffins instead of bread with this recipe......it made for a really great muffin for the fall! Keep in mind they are not your typical "sweet" muffin/bread recipe though. I made the crumb topping mixture from the banana crumb muffins on this website to make these muffins a bit sweeter. I tried them with and without the crumb topping and these muffins are definently MUCH better with the crumb topping on them. If I ever made them in a bread form I would be sure to add the crumb mixture to it as well. Overall these were good muffins so I gave them a 4 - would have given a 5 but w/o the topping they are not a 5. Hope this tip helps others!! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This bread is not too sweet. It is not quite what you expect in a dessert bread but is good served with a ham or pork dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is a delicious bread! I made a few changes that worked well. Used 1/2 cup wheat flour for part of the flour measure; 1/2 Splenda and 1/2 c. sugar; egg beaters for the eggs and walnuts instead of pecans. Since I cooked several sweet potatoes in the fall I measured out 1 cup servings and froze to enjoy this bread any time of the year. Remember using Splenda will cut down the baking time somewhat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is the BEST homemade bread I've ever made/had! I made it just like the recipe said, except that I used walnuts instead of pecans and I made them muffin size, instead of in a loaf. Baked for approx. 35 minutes (since they were smaller than a loaf). AWESOME RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Excellent taste and wonderfully moist, but getting three stars because it really was not very sweet potatoey. It tasted pretty much like any other spice loaf. Yummy...but not what I thought I was going to get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Very good sweet bread. It is very similar to pumpkin bread and my husband kept asking if it was really made with sweet potatoes. The only changes I made to the recipe was the addition of chopped dates along with the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
An absolute winner. I regularly make banana, apple and zucchini bread, but this beat them all. Thank you for an excellent recipe that will become a staple in our house. I cannot wait for Christmas to give this as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very good, grankids like it. I used half brown, half white sugars, also added a tsp. of vanilla, half applesauce and half margarine instead of oil. I didn't have golden raisins so I used dark raisins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Loved this...I am always trying to find something with sweet potatoes that my husband and I agree on...he loves them...I don't like them at all. But here is a recipe that makes us both happy. I made in mini loaf pans for gifts. Thank you very much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States