Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I made this recipe tonight and my kids LOVED it! The only thing I changed was I substituted the oil and used butter instead. Tastes great!! This will also be great even without pecans. 5 Stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyviola

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Excellent, moist and flavorful. This is indeed better after sitting overnight. I made a double batch and baked one as a loaf, and the other as muffins. The muffins baked in 20 minutes and were delicious. I left out raisins for the sake of my family's taste and added in a bit of ginger for my own. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was so yummy! I added a spoonfull or so of light sour cream just to keep it moist and substituted whole wheat flour instead of all purpuse. I also left a few chunks of sweet potato when i was mashing them for a little bit of texture, the changes worked well with the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This bread was so delish! And what a great way of using up leftover mashed sweet potatoes. I'm not a fan of raisins so I replaced them with dried sweetened cranberries and I replaced the pecans with finely chopped walnuts. Also, I was out of eggs so I replaced the eggs with "flax seed eggs" (2 tbsp ground flax seed mixed with 6 tbs of hot water = 2 eggs). SO GOOD! I served this bread the next day warmed up with apple butter on top. I will definately be keeping this recipe in my apron pocket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
i felt like this might be a bit strange, but i was totally wrong!! this bread was really delicious and wasn't overwhelmingly sweet. i will absolutely make this again! yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I LOVE sweet potatoes and I LOVED this bread! Made some with raisins and some without- good either way. Substituted applesauce for the oil and used half whole wheat flour and it turned out great! Dense and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
A delicious sweet bread. This is a traditional Southern recipe. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I always forget to review recipes..but no this one...not this time!! How delicious!!! While I want to give credit to the recipe, I did make a few changes that may have put my results over-the-top. I used coconut oil for health reasons but I think it leads to better baked products. Secondly, my mashed sweet potatoes were from last nights dinner and already had a little brown sugar, maple syrup, orange and cinnamon extracts, butter, nutmeg and cream. Also, I used more of the sweet potato mixture than was called for just because I wanted to use it all up. I would say I used 25% more potato than the recipe called for. I also put in a smidge more sugar than required. Then, after spraying my stoneware bread pans, I placed a mixture of sugar and cinnamon over the spray before putting the batter into the pans. I used no nuts or raisins. I put dried cranberries in one loaf but not the other. The taste difference was negligable. Folks, I baked delicious quick breads often and this was the best I have ever, ever made. The winner! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
A nice breakfast bread. Something different, though not spectacular. A good use for leftover mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was awesome I used dried cranberries instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States