Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made with homemade, slightly sweetened slow cooker applesauce, which was made with red delicious apples and raisins, in place of oil, gave this bread the touch of sweetness it lacked when made the first time as originally written. Not using oil left room for a few extra calories so used half & half in place of milk. Also, using 2/3 cup brown and 1/3 cup white sugar in place of one cup of white sugar added richness of flavor. Using craisins in place of raisins contrasted wonderfully with the sweet flavor; sweet potatoes, pecans and brown sugar is a tried and true flavor principle. This is our family and friends's new favorite breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent & Easy! Love this recipe. I grow and can my own sweet potatoes. So for Christmas gifts I make several loaves of sweet potato bread. I start early and make 2 loaves a week and freeze them. Everyone loves it!!! I did exchange 1/2 cup of butter for 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. Sweet potato bread is not as sweet as pumpkin bread sometimes I will ad a brown sugar and butter glaze to the top as soon as it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deafsetter
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Easy, moist & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My spouse and I hated sweet potatoes. I wanted to see if my children would eat them. They appeared to dislike them as well after I made two different dishes out of them. So I had one sweet potatoe left. I didn't want to throw it out but dreaded making something out of it to possibly throw away. I came across this recipe. Saw it was pretty easy to put together and another reviewer compared it to pumpkin bread which we like. So I went for it and just tried it. I like it and will let it sit the night and have the family try it in the morning. Thank you for this recipe and not wasting a sweet potatoe. If I find myself with one or two again I definetlly know what I am making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by HollyEverhart
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So good!!! I added oats & used splenda for baking sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
OMG this is awsome! Only thing I changed (because of being diabetic) I used UNBLEACHED all pourpose flour, and instead of white sugar, I used Xylitol plus 1 Tbls extra milk (xylitol has a tendency to absorb liquids in recipes(being new to the diabetic and Xylitol thing, i'm still playing with it, this time was PERFECT)THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good but made some changes. 3/4 c ap fl, 1/4 c whole wheat pastry flour, 1/8 c ground flax seeds, 3/8 c oatmeal flakes, substituted apple sauce for 1/2 of the oil and I replaced the raisins with either dried cranberries or chocolate chips. I also used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/8- 1/4 cup of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I make these all the time. they are great in muffins (small Or Large). Great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Mmmm, this is good. I love sweet potatoes and usually substitute them in any recipe calling for pumpkin. Because I made a last-minute decision to make this last night, I used a can of organic sweet potato puree (it was a little over a cup, so I just omitted the milk and used the extra potato). My changes...used half white and half brown sugar, whole-grain spelt flour for the AP flour and used pecan meal for 1/2 cup of the flour (just didn't feel like chopping pecans last night), 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup melted butter, and added a couple teaspoons vanilla. I also added some allspice for part of the cinnamon. The house smelled great while it was cooking. I had a piece after it cooled last night and it was pretty good. But this morning, it is great! If you can keep yourself away from it to leave it overnight, you will be rewarded. I'll be making this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Great and easy recipe. Along with tasting great, it made the house smell great too. Like others before me I made some changes. I used applesauce instead of oil (because I had none), I also boiled the sweet potatos instead of baking them (to save time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States