Southern Sweet Potato Bread with Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This bread was awesome! I replaced the oil with unsweetened apple sauce to save fat/calories. I also used cranberries instead of raisins. Next time I'm going to experiment with baking Stevia instead of the sugar and make muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I think I must have done something wrong, I followed the recipe to the letter and when I cut into it the next day it was all gooey. It was if I hadn't cooked it long enough maybe but I did the time that was suggested and when I checked it with a tooth pick it was fine, so I'm not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made with homemade, slightly sweetened slow cooker applesauce, which was made with red delicious apples and raisins, in place of oil, gave this bread the touch of sweetness it lacked when made the first time as originally written. Not using oil left room for a few extra calories so used half & half in place of milk. Also, using 2/3 cup brown and 1/3 cup white sugar in place of one cup of white sugar added richness of flavor. Using craisins in place of raisins contrasted wonderfully with the sweet flavor; sweet potatoes, pecans and brown sugar is a tried and true flavor principle. This is our family and friends's new favorite breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Excellent & Easy! Love this recipe. I grow and can my own sweet potatoes. So for Christmas gifts I make several loaves of sweet potato bread. I start early and make 2 loaves a week and freeze them. Everyone loves it!!! I did exchange 1/2 cup of butter for 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. Sweet potato bread is not as sweet as pumpkin bread sometimes I will ad a brown sugar and butter glaze to the top as soon as it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deafsetter
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Easy, moist & tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My spouse and I hated sweet potatoes. I wanted to see if my children would eat them. They appeared to dislike them as well after I made two different dishes out of them. So I had one sweet potatoe left. I didn't want to throw it out but dreaded making something out of it to possibly throw away. I came across this recipe. Saw it was pretty easy to put together and another reviewer compared it to pumpkin bread which we like. So I went for it and just tried it. I like it and will let it sit the night and have the family try it in the morning. Thank you for this recipe and not wasting a sweet potatoe. If I find myself with one or two again I definetlly know what I am making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by HollyEverhart
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
So good!!! I added oats & used splenda for baking sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
OMG this is awsome! Only thing I changed (because of being diabetic) I used UNBLEACHED all pourpose flour, and instead of white sugar, I used Xylitol plus 1 Tbls extra milk (xylitol has a tendency to absorb liquids in recipes(being new to the diabetic and Xylitol thing, i'm still playing with it, this time was PERFECT)THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Very good but made some changes. 3/4 c ap fl, 1/4 c whole wheat pastry flour, 1/8 c ground flax seeds, 3/8 c oatmeal flakes, substituted apple sauce for 1/2 of the oil and I replaced the raisins with either dried cranberries or chocolate chips. I also used 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/8- 1/4 cup of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rikjog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States