Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I prepared the string beans the day before thanksgiving. After they finished simmering for 4 hours, I put in the freezer overnight. They are really good! The ham hocks seasoned the beans really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Best green beans ever. I used both fresh and frozen beans together. Could not tell the difference when I served them. Delicious. I will be serving green beans a lot more often now that I have this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This recipe was great! I did not have a ham hock so I substituted a half pound of bacon cut up and it tasted really yummy. Even my daughter that does not like green beens ate this one. Will definitely make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Very nice change to green beans. I am from the south and my husband loves green beans well cooked but with that special flavor that I never seemed to be able to reproduce. The vinegar made a huge difference. I made 1/2 the amount but would cut the vinegar a little more than half. I also added a tablespoon of sugar. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Good south of the mason-dixon beans. Made for Thanksgiving and got rave reviews. Wouldn't change a thing. Smelled yummy cooking too. This recipe would work well for collards or kale or other greens. Don't skimp on vinegar, gives a nice bite. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SURFWENCH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
These were absolutely the best we have ever eaten. Hubby is a cook-and he was totally impressed! Dont' change a thing-lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Served this for Thanksgiving. Was a great hit would not change a thing. The vinegar is very important. My Brother-IN-Law took the recipe home with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These were delicious. I didn't have enough time, so they only cooked for 2 hours, but they were still wonderful. I can't wait to try these again with the full 4 hours of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
These green beans rock! I used shallots instead of onion and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great! I made it for Thanksgiving last week. I made a couple changes to add flavor though. I omitted the onion since my boyfriend is incredibly picky and just slipped onion powder in to be sneaky. :) I also added about a tablespoon each of kosher salt and ground white pepper and one piece of thick sliced bacon, which I just removed after cooking. I'll be using the recipe next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States