Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Definetely a great recipe! I would make this again next year for Thanksgiving. I put all of the ingredients in my crockpot in the morning and let it cook on low for about 7 hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great!! This was our first attempt at homemade fresh green beans. We tried to make it a from-scratch Thanksgiving this year, and everything turned out great, including these beans!! . We threw 1/2 a pound of beans (enough for a side dish for 2), 4 slices of pan-fried bacon, cut up, in lieu of the hamhock (if we do bacon again, we'll do 2 slices), and 2 tbsp of brown sugar into the mix for fun, and the beans came out with just the right amount of sweet & salty (the bacon ended up a little sweet though, so next time, we'll try ham). . We cooked them on high in the crockpot for 20 minutes, then low for the next 3 1/2 hours while the turkey took its time. The beans turned out deliciously, just the right amount of tenderness and firmness and a great flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
Served this for Thanksgiving. Was a great hit would not change a thing. The vinegar is very important. My Brother-IN-Law took the recipe home with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This recipe was great! I did not have a ham hock so I substituted a half pound of bacon cut up and it tasted really yummy. Even my daughter that does not like green beens ate this one. Will definitely make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
These green beans are exceptional.I celebrate thanksgiving twice a year since I moved to Canada (they have there's on the 10 of October). When I read this recipe I thought vinegar uh but it adds a great flavor to them and I also used cracked black peppercorn, it made them spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for Christmas dinner and I loved them. I used 4 lbs frozen italian cut greem beans and only used about 3/4 of the vinegar called for. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker and cooked on high for about 3 hours, then reduced to low for about 3 hours. My fiance and I loved them, the kids didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe. I made some subtle changes, though. I reduced the water, threw in a second ham hock (they came a pair to the package), eliminated the garlic, and substituted cider vinegar for white and reduced it to 1 1/2 tablespoons. I cooked that down for about 2 hours before adding the beans. I left them on for a slow simmer for about 2 hours. Letter perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Made tonight for company, and everyone thought they were great. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
These were absolutely the best we have ever eaten. Hubby is a cook-and he was totally impressed! Dont' change a thing-lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I'm sorry but these were horrible. I did not like the onion taste on them. I ended up cleaning them off and just cooking them on the oven with some garlic and oil. I would not recommend these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States