Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great!! This was our first attempt at homemade fresh green beans. We tried to make it a from-scratch Thanksgiving this year, and everything turned out great, including these beans!! . We threw 1/2 a pound of beans (enough for a side dish for 2), 4 slices of pan-fried bacon, cut up, in lieu of the hamhock (if we do bacon again, we'll do 2 slices), and 2 tbsp of brown sugar into the mix for fun, and the beans came out with just the right amount of sweet & salty (the bacon ended up a little sweet though, so next time, we'll try ham). . We cooked them on high in the crockpot for 20 minutes, then low for the next 3 1/2 hours while the turkey took its time. The beans turned out deliciously, just the right amount of tenderness and firmness and a great flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. I just cooked them all day in the slow cooker on low and the beans had perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Made tonight for company, and everyone thought they were great. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have NO idea how this is not one of the top 10 recipes on this site! I made the recipe exactly as written and everyone who ate the beans were asking for the recipe! True southern-style benas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this was an okay recipe. I didn't care for the flavor much at all. I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
These are delicious! I add a slice of raw bacon. I simmer these for a long time. These are great southern beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are very good and will make again. However only cooked 1 hour instead of 4 and came out great. I prefer to not cook green beans such a long time. Ham hock and onions make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made these green beans just this pastThanksgiving. My family gave me a hard time because they did not want to change from the durkee onion green bean cassarole we have every year. But I persisted and I'm glad I did. The beans were very good. The recipe made a large portion. I did add a little seasoning salt and doubled the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Definetely a great recipe! I would make this again next year for Thanksgiving. I put all of the ingredients in my crockpot in the morning and let it cook on low for about 7 hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great! I made it for Thanksgiving last week. I made a couple changes to add flavor though. I omitted the onion since my boyfriend is incredibly picky and just slipped onion powder in to be sneaky. :) I also added about a tablespoon each of kosher salt and ground white pepper and one piece of thick sliced bacon, which I just removed after cooking. I'll be using the recipe next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States