Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I used salt pork instead of hocks. It still came out great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I had to cook my first family Thanksgiving this year, so I was trying green bean recipes out ahead of time. I love fresh green beans so this appealed to me. I cut the recipe down for two and ended up eating the whole thing myself. My son just likes things out of the can plain so it was to different for him but I didn't mind it was more for me! I never knew how my grandma made them, and it was to late to ask her, but this tasted like hers. I was thrilled! I didn't use the recipe for Thanksgiving because my daughter begged me to make them my usual way but I will definately make them more often for myself this summmer when I can buy the good fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I'm from the deep south, and this recipe is amazingly southern tasting! Someone even asked me, "What is your secret ingredient?" I had to laugh because, well, there are no secret ingredients. I used three cans of green beans and the end of an already cooked boneless ham, and the recipe came out beautifully. This could not have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigandsherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Best green beans I have made to date. I was already roasting a pork shoulder, so I used a chunk of that instead of a ham hock and it worked wonderfully. I only used 2.5# beans, and crumbled crispy bacon into the pot right before serving. I can't wait to eat some leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I have bee looking fo a recipie for green beans for a long time and I think I have found it. It came out great but I varied the recipie a bit. Instead of water, I used chicken broth. I used apple cider vinegar instead of plain vinegar and I cooked them in a crock pot for 7 hours on low instead of on the stove top. They came out excellent even though I used frozen beans. I will use this recipie whenever I make green beans. My only complaint is that there weren't any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Nanuet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I used smoked turkey instead of ham hock. I think that is why I did not prefer this too much. I think the vinegar did not like the smoked turkey. I may try again with ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made these for Chritmas dinner. I followed the recipe exactly but only cooked about half the time. The were super yummy with lots of good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I wanted to try something different with my green beans. I cooked these for several hours in my slow cooker, but I just couldn't get the taste I was satisfied with. I am pretty sure it was the vinegar that I didn't like, even though I normally like vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
great southern style recipe!!! this was excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rae_rae_1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I expected so much better after the rave reviews, I'm so disappointed! I did not care for this - too much ham flavor, too much vinegar (and I LOVE vinegar!). You couldn't taste the green bean flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States