Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
YUM! Ive never been a big fan of fresh green beans because I always thought they were tasteless. These were the bomb! I used bacon this time but will use the ham hock next time. Will be asking all my friends that have gardens for any extra green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
The best green beans I've ever made. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
these def wasnt what i was hoping for. i made for my first thansgiving and thank goodness i tried them before i served them. all they tasted like was vinegar. i guess it depends on your preference but i wouldnt reccoment this at all. i threw mine out and got some mroe to sautee with bacon and onion. dont waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Didn't use ham hock because I couldn't find any at the store. I used bacon instead but I think it would have tasted better with the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a great base recipe. I used beef broth instead of water and bacon instead of a ham hock. I also am not a huge vinegar fan, so I only used about a tablespoon total. It turned out really amazing with these changes! I cooked these beans in the crockpot for about six hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving - left out the onion, used 1/2 the vinegar, 1/2 the salt (added more later but didn't want to overdue with the ham hock in there) and cooked them all day on low in a crockpot. Heavenly! Best green beans ever - makes me want to give away all the cans of beans in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious! I made these for our son's graduation party and everyone loved them. I only cooked them for a couple of hours though or they would have been way too soft for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These were just as tasty as my southern born and raised Granny used to make! I threw in sliced bacon, it was all I had, and they were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
These are amazing! I followed recipe exactly except I used fat back instead of ham hock and it turned out so yummy. This recipe is definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyk79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States