Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Garlic was the one ingredient that my Granny used that I could never identify - thanks to you a mystery has been solved! I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Don't change one thing. Substituting bacon for the ham hock changes the recipe entirely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I ended up adjusting this recipe to our taste because it did not have flavor. I used two 3lb cans Hanover green beans and turkey smoked sausage instead of a ham hock and half the salt(sea salt). I ended up pouring half the water out. The adjustments were made after the recipe simmered. I added about 4tbs of butter, and about 2tbs of Knorr Chicken Flavor Bouillon, and 1tbs of Italian Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jc812
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am a southern food snob... and these green beans hit the spot! I used 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar instead of the white distilled. I think this tastes better with the beans. I backed off a little on the salt, added seasoned salt, and two splashes of liquid smoke and Worcestershire sauce each. Oh yes. and a pinch of crushed red peppers. I cooked the concoction in a pressure cooker which saved on the time. 25 mins on pressure and your beans are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc812

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe. I made some subtle changes, though. I reduced the water, threw in a second ham hock (they came a pair to the package), eliminated the garlic, and substituted cider vinegar for white and reduced it to 1 1/2 tablespoons. I cooked that down for about 2 hours before adding the beans. I left them on for a slow simmer for about 2 hours. Letter perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
love fresh green beans with ham, only difference in my recipe is we use new potatoes in addition and cut back just a bit with vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a really good recipe. I've also found others that I liked, so I've blended them together a little. I use 2# of frozen beans, add a couple tsp of sugar, 6 slices of crisp thick bacon (I can't easily find ham hock in MN) w/grease, 1/3 onion, plus the garlic, vinegar, salt & pepper, and cook it in a crock pot on low for 6-8 hrs in 2-1/2 cups of chicken stock. Other than the ham hock, these are as close to the beans I loved when I lived in GA that I've been able to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Having grown up in the south I thought these were absolutely delicious. I just made another pot recently and I can't stop eating them.. I don't know why some of the reviewers are hung up on the vinegar.. it adds a perfect tartness which really complements the salty ham flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Best green beans ever. They only thing I changed was not to add vinegar. I cooked them in a crock pot and will be making them again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Tasted like Grandma's! I don't like as much salt, so I put less than the recipe, but other than that, I followed it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States