Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great!! This was our first attempt at homemade fresh green beans. We tried to make it a from-scratch Thanksgiving this year, and everything turned out great, including these beans!! . We threw 1/2 a pound of beans (enough for a side dish for 2), 4 slices of pan-fried bacon, cut up, in lieu of the hamhock (if we do bacon again, we'll do 2 slices), and 2 tbsp of brown sugar into the mix for fun, and the beans came out with just the right amount of sweet & salty (the bacon ended up a little sweet though, so next time, we'll try ham). . We cooked them on high in the crockpot for 20 minutes, then low for the next 3 1/2 hours while the turkey took its time. The beans turned out deliciously, just the right amount of tenderness and firmness and a great flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. I just cooked them all day in the slow cooker on low and the beans had perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Made tonight for company, and everyone thought they were great. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have NO idea how this is not one of the top 10 recipes on this site! I made the recipe exactly as written and everyone who ate the beans were asking for the recipe! True southern-style benas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this was an okay recipe. I didn't care for the flavor much at all. I would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
These are delicious! I add a slice of raw bacon. I simmer these for a long time. These are great southern beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
These are very good and will make again. However only cooked 1 hour instead of 4 and came out great. I prefer to not cook green beans such a long time. Ham hock and onions make this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made these green beans just this pastThanksgiving. My family gave me a hard time because they did not want to change from the durkee onion green bean cassarole we have every year. But I persisted and I'm glad I did. The beans were very good. The recipe made a large portion. I did add a little seasoning salt and doubled the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Definetely a great recipe! I would make this again next year for Thanksgiving. I put all of the ingredients in my crockpot in the morning and let it cook on low for about 7 hours and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Great! I made it for Thanksgiving last week. I made a couple changes to add flavor though. I omitted the onion since my boyfriend is incredibly picky and just slipped onion powder in to be sneaky. :) I also added about a tablespoon each of kosher salt and ground white pepper and one piece of thick sliced bacon, which I just removed after cooking. I'll be using the recipe next year. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States