Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are just like I remember them! They smell so good while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent. I used ham pieces instead of hocs, but other than that, followed this exactly and they were just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it is stated and the amount of black pepper is extremely high. None of our 10 guests liked it with so much pepper. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was a tasty version of southern green beans. However, the vinegar was a little potent in it and I would cut back on it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These taste just like old fashioned country style green beans. We loved 'em. 4 pounds of beans filled my crockpot to the brim and served 15 with some leftovers--but then, we had a large collection of other dishes to choose from too. I made mine with bacon rather than a hamhock. Just before serving, I picked out the slimy pieces of bacon fat which had slow cooked. I fried a few strips of bacon, crumbled them and added the crumbles and fat to the beans. This boosted the flavor considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
So good I threw everyting in a crockpot. Simple and easy and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Delicious. Had no ham hock so I used half juice from the ham I was cooking and half water and added three slices of uncooked thick sliced bacon. Local fresh beans looked bad so I used frozen and they came out just fine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very tasty! I've been looking for a good recipe for green beans and this is it. I've tried them with canned and fresh and both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These are really good and really easy. You can do them in the crockpot or stovetop. I have also used bacon or a chopped, smoked turkey leg in lieu of the hamhock. I no longer used canned green beans. Much like my Nanny used to make. Good memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Served with mashed spuds and pork ribs, these southern style beans were a hit! I cooked them only two hours, and they were flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States