Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
YUM! Ive never been a big fan of fresh green beans because I always thought they were tasteless. These were the bomb! I used bacon this time but will use the ham hock next time. Will be asking all my friends that have gardens for any extra green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
The best green beans I've ever made. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Faris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
these def wasnt what i was hoping for. i made for my first thansgiving and thank goodness i tried them before i served them. all they tasted like was vinegar. i guess it depends on your preference but i wouldnt reccoment this at all. i threw mine out and got some mroe to sautee with bacon and onion. dont waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Didn't use ham hock because I couldn't find any at the store. I used bacon instead but I think it would have tasted better with the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S_DARROUGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This was a great base recipe. I used beef broth instead of water and bacon instead of a ham hock. I also am not a huge vinegar fan, so I only used about a tablespoon total. It turned out really amazing with these changes! I cooked these beans in the crockpot for about six hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving - left out the onion, used 1/2 the vinegar, 1/2 the salt (added more later but didn't want to overdue with the ham hock in there) and cooked them all day on low in a crockpot. Heavenly! Best green beans ever - makes me want to give away all the cans of beans in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious! I made these for our son's graduation party and everyone loved them. I only cooked them for a couple of hours though or they would have been way too soft for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
These were just as tasty as my southern born and raised Granny used to make! I threw in sliced bacon, it was all I had, and they were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
These are amazing! I followed recipe exactly except I used fat back instead of ham hock and it turned out so yummy. This recipe is definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandyk79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States