Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Awesome!! The only way i make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I grew up in the South and this is the way my grandmother always made green beans. This recipe brought back lots of memories! A five star plus recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Another great recipe! I fixed these with our Easter dinner and they were sooooo good! Way better than just steaming green beans!! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was super yummy! I was at a loss for what to do for Thanksgiving (hubby hates green bean casserole) and found this recipe! I didn't have a homhock, so I used a pound of bacon chopped up instead and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Sorry but this one disappointed me. Just not what I was expecting for flavor. Actually kind of bland. I was hoping for so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These beans were AWSOME. i had to use bacon in place of the hocks because I live in Mexico and couldnt find the Hocks but man they were great.....Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was great!! This was our first attempt at homemade fresh green beans. We tried to make it a from-scratch Thanksgiving this year, and everything turned out great, including these beans!! . We threw 1/2 a pound of beans (enough for a side dish for 2), 4 slices of pan-fried bacon, cut up, in lieu of the hamhock (if we do bacon again, we'll do 2 slices), and 2 tbsp of brown sugar into the mix for fun, and the beans came out with just the right amount of sweet & salty (the bacon ended up a little sweet though, so next time, we'll try ham). . We cooked them on high in the crockpot for 20 minutes, then low for the next 3 1/2 hours while the turkey took its time. The beans turned out deliciously, just the right amount of tenderness and firmness and a great flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. I just cooked them all day in the slow cooker on low and the beans had perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Made tonight for company, and everyone thought they were great. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I have NO idea how this is not one of the top 10 recipes on this site! I made the recipe exactly as written and everyone who ate the beans were asking for the recipe! True southern-style benas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States