Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Delicious. Had no ham hock so I used half juice from the ham I was cooking and half water and added three slices of uncooked thick sliced bacon. Local fresh beans looked bad so I used frozen and they came out just fine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very tasty! I've been looking for a good recipe for green beans and this is it. I've tried them with canned and fresh and both were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These are really good and really easy. You can do them in the crockpot or stovetop. I have also used bacon or a chopped, smoked turkey leg in lieu of the hamhock. I no longer used canned green beans. Much like my Nanny used to make. Good memories!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Served with mashed spuds and pork ribs, these southern style beans were a hit! I cooked them only two hours, and they were flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Awesome!! The only way i make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I grew up in the South and this is the way my grandmother always made green beans. This recipe brought back lots of memories! A five star plus recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Another great recipe! I fixed these with our Easter dinner and they were sooooo good! Way better than just steaming green beans!! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was super yummy! I was at a loss for what to do for Thanksgiving (hubby hates green bean casserole) and found this recipe! I didn't have a homhock, so I used a pound of bacon chopped up instead and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie Miller Cooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Sorry but this one disappointed me. Just not what I was expecting for flavor. Actually kind of bland. I was hoping for so much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
These beans were AWSOME. i had to use bacon in place of the hocks because I live in Mexico and couldnt find the Hocks but man they were great.....Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States