Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I wanted to try something different with my green beans. I cooked these for several hours in my slow cooker, but I just couldn't get the taste I was satisfied with. I am pretty sure it was the vinegar that I didn't like, even though I normally like vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
great southern style recipe!!! this was excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rae_rae_1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I expected so much better after the rave reviews, I'm so disappointed! I did not care for this - too much ham flavor, too much vinegar (and I LOVE vinegar!). You couldn't taste the green bean flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are just like I remember them! They smell so good while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Excellent. I used ham pieces instead of hocs, but other than that, followed this exactly and they were just like my grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as it is stated and the amount of black pepper is extremely high. None of our 10 guests liked it with so much pepper. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was a tasty version of southern green beans. However, the vinegar was a little potent in it and I would cut back on it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These taste just like old fashioned country style green beans. We loved 'em. 4 pounds of beans filled my crockpot to the brim and served 15 with some leftovers--but then, we had a large collection of other dishes to choose from too. I made mine with bacon rather than a hamhock. Just before serving, I picked out the slimy pieces of bacon fat which had slow cooked. I fried a few strips of bacon, crumbled them and added the crumbles and fat to the beans. This boosted the flavor considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
So good I threw everyting in a crockpot. Simple and easy and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Delicious. Had no ham hock so I used half juice from the ham I was cooking and half water and added three slices of uncooked thick sliced bacon. Local fresh beans looked bad so I used frozen and they came out just fine. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States