Southern Style Thanksgiving Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I make these with Pole beans. Unfortunately, they are only available part of the year. I always make them for the holidays. They are great, sometimes at Thanksgiving if I don't shop early I have to go to a few stores to find them . I use chicken broth instead of water and I leave out the vinegar. The ham hock is kinda gross, but its a must for great flavor. This recipe has been on my family's table for as long as I can remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Loved them! I made a few modifications: 1 smoked turkey leg versus ham hock. Next time I will add 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes to give them a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made these for Christmas dinner and I loved them. I used 4 lbs frozen italian cut greem beans and only used about 3/4 of the vinegar called for. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker and cooked on high for about 3 hours, then reduced to low for about 3 hours. My fiance and I loved them, the kids didn't like them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My husband thought this had too much vinegar but everyone else loved it. I thought that the vinegar taste was less when we had them for leftovers the next day. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I omitted the onion but otherwise followed this to a T. Used the washed and trimmed green beans in the package in the produce section to save some time. These were the best green beans I've ever made - now I know that the very long cooking time is the key. They were just great, and couldn't have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was really good and I didn't even use any ham or bacon. . This is the recipe I will use from now on. I guess it has to do with the vinegar. You don't taste the vinegar, but it must do something to make them good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
YUM! Ive never been a big fan of fresh green beans because I always thought they were tasteless. These were the bomb! I used bacon this time but will use the ham hock next time. Will be asking all my friends that have gardens for any extra green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
The best green beans I've ever made. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
these def wasnt what i was hoping for. i made for my first thansgiving and thank goodness i tried them before i served them. all they tasted like was vinegar. i guess it depends on your preference but i wouldnt reccoment this at all. i threw mine out and got some mroe to sautee with bacon and onion. dont waste your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Didn't use ham hock because I couldn't find any at the store. I used bacon instead but I think it would have tasted better with the ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States