Southern-Style Oven-Fried Catfish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Incredibly easy and delicious! I did not have cornmeal so used Panko crumbs. I baked 12 minutes on each side and it was perfect! I will make this again, guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Turned out very good, did add more cook time due to more amount of fish. Great flavor with some rice pilaf and red potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Good for a baked catfish, but nothing beats deep fried. We did use less hot pepper sauce thinking it'd be to hot, but next time we'll use closer to the tablespoon if not all. This is the best of any baked fish recipes though. I would recommend using 1/3 c. cornmeal & 2/3 c. panko as I'll make that change next time. This time I'd tried 1/2 & 1/2, but still to much cornmeal for our taste. I'd also squirt with some oil (oil or canola) to help crisp it up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tried this for dinner family loved it! I served it with corn and sauteed shrip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Proano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
We like this recipe and cooking method so much that we use it almost on a weekly basis. We've done catfish, tilapia, thinly sliced boneless chicken breasts, okra... Okra?!? Yes, okra. My initial experiment with okra came out so well that my husband only wants his okra (his favorite vegetable!) cooked this way now. Hmmm, can green tomatoes be far behind? My only deviation from the recipe as posted is to heat the oiled pans while the oven is preheating; I only use 1 jumbo egg and about 2 Tbsp. of Chipotle Tabasco sauce, and I use Slap Ya Mama Cajun seasoning in place of the Creole, as we like things a bit on the spicy side. I also triple the dry mix and keep it in a jar in the fridge to have handy whenever we want to use it. Thank you, Carina, for a great easy and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This turned out very good. The fish were crisp and not dry inside. I used flounder since my husband doesn't eat catfish. I also did some shrimp by this recipe and they were great. Will definitely make again. Beats all the grease with frying. Healthy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Wonderful as is, but if you find catfish to have a gamey flavor as my family does, try marinating in buttermilk for a couple hours before you rinse and proceed with the rest of the recipe. The buttermilk trick also works on any game meat or organ meat like liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The combination of seasonings ruined this dish for me. Too much thyme for one thing. It was also somewhat mushy on the bottom even though I baked it another couple of minutes. I also didn't like the idea of spraying the top of the fish with cooking spray. I think I will just broil the catfish with some buttered bread crumbs on top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This turned out quite crisp, tasting like fried without being greasy. I forgot my hot sauce in the egg this first time. :( I also subbed 1/2 Panko for 1/2 the cornmeal because we don't like just corn meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Outstanding; liked by all of my family, including my picky 10 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States