Southern-Style Onion Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Loved the cornmeal coating!!! Turned out fantastic! Will make these again. I did leave out the thyme as I am currently in Turkey and the thyme I find here is a bit different. Otherwise a fantastic onion ring and rather easy! I thinking I may modify the coating to fit it for chicken poppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Fish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Husband said best he ever had! The cornmeal makes it so crunchy yet they are still light. The Vidalias we had were so sweet and mild tasting compared to the typical onion taste. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
These were amazing! They're definitely going on my list of 'things to make when there's company for dinner'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nimue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These were AMAZING! Followed the recipe exactly except scaled in half. Best onion rings I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wildman Groves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Added some seasoned bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Made these as a side to Ranch Burgers and they were a huge hit! No leftovers! I followed the recipe exactly and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
this is by far the best onion ring recipe i have tried.that nice crunch from the cornmeal is excellent.the spices are perfect and now i'm to full to write any more. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were delicious and really crunchy! I subbed soy milk for dairy milk, and only added salt and paprika to the cornmeal mixture (ommitting the other spices). Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
oh my gosh. so amazing!!! this is the best onion ring coating i have ever had!! don't leave out any of the steps. the triple dip is the trick to thick and crunchy coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I tried this recipe and it was the best onion rings I've ever made! They came out perfect. I adjusted the seasonings to what I had on hand and they were still great. I'm keeping this one for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Old-Fashioned Onion Rings

Make these delicious, satisfying onion rings from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States