Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I used frozen greens and replaced the water with chicken broth. (not as much liquid was needed since not wilting the greens down) It even received rave reviews from those who normally dislike greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I first made this two Thanksgivings ago. It has been requested by my extended family every year since. They love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It really annoys me when reviewers change the recipe and then give it a bad review! I've never been a big greens fan, but I made this for a big family gathering, and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I've added my own touches here and there, as does every other cook I know. You have to add your own personal touch. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was a very good way to cook the greens. The only thing I changed is that I destemed the greens before cooking them and I don't eat pork so I left that out. But very good. Thank you for the add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this recipe twice over the holidays--once with bacon and once with some leftover Christmas ham instead. Both were a success! My Southern husband and in-laws loved it. Many thanks from a formerly clueless Yankee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Everybody HAS to try these! So easy soooooooooo Yummy, so healthy. My 6 year old had thirds. I will make these many times mostly for holidays. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My family loved this recipe and it was so easy! I used 1 bag of pre-washed turnip greens and left everything else the same. This cooking time was pefect...tender and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! I do this on a much smaller scale (2 bunches of just turnip greens) for our smaller family of 5. All my 3 toddlers just love it too! Sometimes, I use some pepperoncini juice for some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I only used turnip green since that is what I had in my garden. I made a few adjustments and added 2 Tbsp. of sugar to the pot because turnip greens are bitter depending if they are young or not(my were not). I also took the advice of another and added moe pickle juice 1 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper and 2 tsp. of seasoned salt. Very tasty recipe I will make this for the holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I substituted chard and collards for the turnip greens, put in chicken broth instead of water and added about a tablespoon of creole seasoning. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States