Southern Style Holiday Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I first made this two Thanksgivings ago. It has been requested by my extended family every year since. They love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this recipe twice over the holidays--once with bacon and once with some leftover Christmas ham instead. Both were a success! My Southern husband and in-laws loved it. Many thanks from a formerly clueless Yankee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
It seemed like something was missing from this recipe. It's good, but just needs something more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I used frozen greens and replaced the water with chicken broth. (not as much liquid was needed since not wilting the greens down) It even received rave reviews from those who normally dislike greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! I do this on a much smaller scale (2 bunches of just turnip greens) for our smaller family of 5. All my 3 toddlers just love it too! Sometimes, I use some pepperoncini juice for some extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was a very good way to cook the greens. The only thing I changed is that I destemed the greens before cooking them and I don't eat pork so I left that out. But very good. Thank you for the add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
this is really good. this recipe was the first for my family to try greens. and they loved it. we will definately eat them a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Everybody HAS to try these! So easy soooooooooo Yummy, so healthy. My 6 year old had thirds. I will make these many times mostly for holidays. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These greens needed a lot of doctoring! It just didn't have that Southern down home taste I've been accustomed to. I've enjoyed greens during every major holiday while growing up, and finally wanted to make some of my own. (This was actually my 3rd time making them). In order to get them to taste like anything, I ended up adding 3 chicken bouillon cubes, more pickle juice, jalepeno juice, a little bit of seasoning salt, garlic powder, & crushed red pepper. After adding this I was finally able to lick my platter clean :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It really annoys me when reviewers change the recipe and then give it a bad review! I've never been a big greens fan, but I made this for a big family gathering, and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was great. I've added my own touches here and there, as does every other cook I know. You have to add your own personal touch. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States