Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these with dinner tonight they tasted great but I had problems with some of the batter coming off, I added extra water as suggested so that might be why. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very very good. Our Sonny's BBQ used to have fried mushrooms, and they redid their restaurant and took them off the menu. We've been craving a great mushroom recipe and these hit the spot! I had to add some more water to get the batter just so, but that's of no consequence. Great receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I ALMOST rated this 4 stars! Unfortunately as others have noted - you have to add more water. It's not a big deal, true, but if you follow the recipe as written you have a dough and not a batter. It's more like 2 tablespoons. However,the flavor is wonderful and provided you fry it a slightly deep golden brown, provides a nice crispy crunch. I imagine this batter would be great on a lot of vegetables and will try experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
As others mentioned, this needs more water to make a batter. I used cilantro instead of parsley, and crushed one large clove of garlic. I was able to do probably 15 or more medium-small mushrooms and we served them with a creamy horseradish sauce. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I just did this recipe making onion rings, in a word awesome! Nice and crisp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
My family loves mushrooms and every time we can we order them at restaurants. This is a restaurant quality recipe. I adjusted the water to 1 1/2 tblsp as suggested and I had a mixed herb seasoning that I used instead of the parsley. This recipe is going down in my family cookbook! I reheated in the oven the next day and they were just as good. We will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've never had fried mushrooms before but I saw this recipe and had to try it! It was absolutely delicious. Like everyone said, I did have to add a bit more water to the recipe, and i didn't have any red wine on hand so I substituted diluted red wine vinegar and it was yumyumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Bellflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I added a 1/2 cup water to make this a batter rather then a dough. I added garlic pepper because I was out of garlic. Oh my goodness no more $8.00 for 8 mushrooms for me. I'll be making these at home from now on. Great with Artichoke and spinach dip. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are really, really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 50% more water in the batter. Divine appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States