Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made these with dinner tonight they tasted great but I had problems with some of the batter coming off, I added extra water as suggested so that might be why. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Flavor was good but, as others have noted, liquid measurment was way off. And because they didn't crisp up as much as I like, I'm wondering if an "egg" was omitted from the ingredient list. All batters I've ever made for deep frying include egg. May give it another try with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These are really, really good. I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 50% more water in the batter. Divine appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaRenner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ramona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made these for my book club, our theme for dinner that evening was Southern foods. I really did not know how these were going to turn out, but we all loved them! Easy to do, too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGTMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Hebron, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I added a 1/2 cup water to make this a batter rather then a dough. I added garlic pepper because I was out of garlic. Oh my goodness no more $8.00 for 8 mushrooms for me. I'll be making these at home from now on. Great with Artichoke and spinach dip. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and we didn't like it AT ALL..will not try again. If I could rate this w/o a star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've never had fried mushrooms before but I saw this recipe and had to try it! It was absolutely delicious. Like everyone said, I did have to add a bit more water to the recipe, and i didn't have any red wine on hand so I substituted diluted red wine vinegar and it was yumyumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Bellflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used this recipe with sliced portabello mushrooms. I could taste some of the seasoning, but I think my choice in mushrooms was too heavy for this batter. Next time, I think I'll add more garlic and cheese to it. It was nice and crispy, however. I did find that the batter retained way too much grease for my liking. Does anyone have any ideas on how to tweak it a little so it doesn't absorb so much? Yes, I did put the mushrooms on a wire rack after I took them out of the deep fryer and yes, I did wait until the grease was at 350 degrees. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
My family loves mushrooms and every time we can we order them at restaurants. This is a restaurant quality recipe. I adjusted the water to 1 1/2 tblsp as suggested and I had a mixed herb seasoning that I used instead of the parsley. This recipe is going down in my family cookbook! I reheated in the oven the next day and they were just as good. We will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I just did this recipe making onion rings, in a word awesome! Nice and crisp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States