Southern Style Fried Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I ALMOST rated this 4 stars! Unfortunately as others have noted - you have to add more water. It's not a big deal, true, but if you follow the recipe as written you have a dough and not a batter. It's more like 2 tablespoons. However,the flavor is wonderful and provided you fry it a slightly deep golden brown, provides a nice crispy crunch. I imagine this batter would be great on a lot of vegetables and will try experimenting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These turned out excellent. I used white wine because Celeste drank all my red when she was here and didn't tell me. The batter was really too thick as written so I did have to add more wine and water to it, which kinda makes me want to lower the rating here - but since the problem is easily fixed and I don't see anyone else whining about it I'll leave it alone. I left out the parsley cuz I didn't have any. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I just did this recipe making onion rings, in a word awesome! Nice and crisp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRASH5456

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiarton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I've never had fried mushrooms before but I saw this recipe and had to try it! It was absolutely delicious. Like everyone said, I did have to add a bit more water to the recipe, and i didn't have any red wine on hand so I substituted diluted red wine vinegar and it was yumyumyum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Bellflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I used Cab for the wine and swapped garlic powder for the minced because I figured it would be better distributed in the batter. Had to thin the batter down, used white wine and some water for this because the red was gone. The wine in the batter was divine. I had giant stuffing mushrooms so I quartered them, not the best of ideas because they started to weep mushroom juice making the batter lose the crisp, but that is my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
My family loves mushrooms and every time we can we order them at restaurants. This is a restaurant quality recipe. I adjusted the water to 1 1/2 tblsp as suggested and I had a mixed herb seasoning that I used instead of the parsley. This recipe is going down in my family cookbook! I reheated in the oven the next day and they were just as good. We will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pisgah, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Very very good. Our Sonny's BBQ used to have fried mushrooms, and they redid their restaurant and took them off the menu. We've been craving a great mushroom recipe and these hit the spot! I had to add some more water to get the batter just so, but that's of no consequence. Great receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Flavor was good but, as others have noted, liquid measurment was way off. And because they didn't crisp up as much as I like, I'm wondering if an "egg" was omitted from the ingredient list. All batters I've ever made for deep frying include egg. May give it another try with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used this recipe with sliced portabello mushrooms. I could taste some of the seasoning, but I think my choice in mushrooms was too heavy for this batter. Next time, I think I'll add more garlic and cheese to it. It was nice and crispy, however. I did find that the batter retained way too much grease for my liking. Does anyone have any ideas on how to tweak it a little so it doesn't absorb so much? Yes, I did put the mushrooms on a wire rack after I took them out of the deep fryer and yes, I did wait until the grease was at 350 degrees. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I followed the directions exactly and we didn't like it AT ALL..will not try again. If I could rate this w/o a star I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States