Southern Style French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
It was the best french onion soup I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This soup is awesome! My husband and I just love it. I have made it twice already, exactly by the recipe. It is definitely the way us "southerners" like our french onion soup! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
My husband and I LOVED this recipe. I added just a touch more wine to it and a small amount of parmesan cheese to the center of the mozzarella cheese for a bit more flavor. The soup was absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I tried this recipe a few minutes after signing up on this site making it my first recipe I tried. This is a great down to earth recipe. Taste is as good as the best restaurants in town. Recommend you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike S. Roby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
very good. Only thing I might do to change this is cut out a few bay leaves, I also used swiss cheese on the top instead of motz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris53182

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Union Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I used two larger onions, as we like a little more "substance" in our soup, and only used 2 bay leaves. I also just added the broth and wine to the pan I had done the onions in, so I could scrape all of the onion flavour into the broth...excellent soup. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This recipe was wonderful. I did use the wine and followed the recipe exactly, except that I used Guyerre (may have spelled that wrong)cheese and toasted the bagettes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JStoddard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Needed "condensed french onion soup" for a salisbury steak recipe. First time ever cooking with wine, and all i had was a 'white merlot.' Followed directions exactly, and this stuff tastes fabulous!!!! It was so easy... I'll never buy onion soup mix again (and I'll have an excuse to keep more wine on hand!! :) Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Absolutely wonderful! This is the best I have ever had and I eat a LOT of soup, especially french onion. I did not use canned broth, I used boullion, also, I did not bake it, I let it get up to a simmer and at that point turned the heat down to medium/low for a little over 2 hours. This is EASY and a fall/winter must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieporsche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estes Park, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made this for the family Christmas dinner (09) and it was a big hit. It was nearly as good as going out to a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States