Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sek_gillis
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Okay, this was an okay attempt at chocolate gravy, but I had to tweak it. I live in the south and we take chocolate gravy very seriously. I had to increase the cocoa to about 1/2 cup instead of 1/4, and I had to add about 1/4 teaspoon of salt to give it some flavor. I was surprised to find this recipe didn't have any salt listed. It was good after those two things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is exactly same recipe handed down through generations of my mother's southern family. We've never had it written down, so there's always too much inconsistency and variation. Thanks for putting measurements to this! I do always add a dash of salt and a bit more butter to mine than is called for here. When I was a little girl, all my friends wanted to spend the night so they could have Chocolate Gravy for breakfast. My kids have introduced several of their friends to it as well....looks like the tradition is in no danger of dying out anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
came out silky smooth and perfect! I did add the 1/4 tsp salt and used a half cup cocoa, awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Awesome recipe! I lost the recipe I had written down from my aunt in Tennessee and came on here to find one. This recipe was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
My husband says this is the closest to what his grandmother in Kentucky used to make for them whrn they were kids... I did add a bit more cocoa - about 1/3 c rather than the 1/4 c. He wanted it with biscuits and that is what he got! He was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Super good! I did follow another reviewers advice and increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup and added some salt. It was perfect! And of course, the kids loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This tastes exactly like what my parents made me growing up! I am so glad I found this recipe! I even eat this on my scrambled eggs and bacon! I know that sounds gross, but "don't knock it 'til ya try it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! I haven't had this in YEARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Really good! I wasn't sure what to expect with this but paired it with the South Georgia Biscuits recipe from this site. After the second bite, both my kids and I were hooked. We all had a second helping. This gravy is very rich so it is quite filling. Thanks for a fun, easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I TOO HAD IT AS A CHILD. NOW I WILL HAVE IT OFTEN. Those people that said it was "almost" like they remember, probably had fresh, whole, non pasteurized milk WHEN THEY WERE A CHILD. . I DID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States