Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Thank you for this recipe! I haven't had this in YEARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Awesome recipe! I lost the recipe I had written down from my aunt in Tennessee and came on here to find one. This recipe was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bttrflybabydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Really good! I wasn't sure what to expect with this but paired it with the South Georgia Biscuits recipe from this site. After the second bite, both my kids and I were hooked. We all had a second helping. This gravy is very rich so it is quite filling. Thanks for a fun, easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I haven't had this since my mom passed away when I was 14. I have been looking for a recipe since my children were born. Tasted just like what my mom used to make, wonderful. Thank you for giving me a piece of my mom back to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sek_gillis
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Okay, this was an okay attempt at chocolate gravy, but I had to tweak it. I live in the south and we take chocolate gravy very seriously. I had to increase the cocoa to about 1/2 cup instead of 1/4, and I had to add about 1/4 teaspoon of salt to give it some flavor. I was surprised to find this recipe didn't have any salt listed. It was good after those two things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is exactly same recipe handed down through generations of my mother's southern family. We've never had it written down, so there's always too much inconsistency and variation. Thanks for putting measurements to this! I do always add a dash of salt and a bit more butter to mine than is called for here. When I was a little girl, all my friends wanted to spend the night so they could have Chocolate Gravy for breakfast. My kids have introduced several of their friends to it as well....looks like the tradition is in no danger of dying out anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Very yummy and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Super good! I did follow another reviewers advice and increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup and added some salt. It was perfect! And of course, the kids loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
My Grandmother used to make this for family gatherings, when she passed away 5 years ago, I ended up with her recipe but of course no measurements... I made this today for a family breakfast...it was such a happy morning filled with happy memories of Grandma Purdy..Didn't change a thing...My family and I loved it!! Thanks for helping us keep this in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This tastes exactly like what my parents made me growing up! I am so glad I found this recipe! I even eat this on my scrambled eggs and bacon! I know that sounds gross, but "don't knock it 'til ya try it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States