Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is the first time i have tried this recipe, my mother-n-law and sister-n-law made my son some chocolate gravy and he loved it, they both have since passed and i didnt have their recipe. My son said that this was just like theirs!!! He Loved It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
IT WAS AMAZING! So smooth, I did add the 1/4 tsp of salt like other reviewers, it was just like I remember as a kid, not pudding like at all, some recipes taste like warm pudding instead of gravy, this is the recipe I've been waiting for, I too have gotten recipes handed down from generations, but no exact recipe so glad to see someone put it on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. My husband has mentioned several times that he had chocolate gravy back in the 70's while visiting Alabama. I had never heard of it but found the recipe here and surprised him. He says 'thumbs up'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. I TOO HAD IT AS A CHILD. NOW I WILL HAVE IT OFTEN. Those people that said it was "almost" like they remember, probably had fresh, whole, non pasteurized milk WHEN THEY WERE A CHILD. . I DID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
this is good but I have two tips to add, boil the milk first then add the sugar flour and cocoa mixture. Also make sure you use powdered/confection sugar. Other than that this is a great breakfast just like my mother makes. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I made this recipe and it is THE BEST chocolate gravy I've ever had. I've made other recipes and eaten it before from different places and they do not come close, there is no comparison. It is the perfect thickness, the perfect sweetness. Awesome!!! I heated up the leftover the next morning and put it on a leftover biscuit-still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I can't tell you how long I've been searching for this recipe. I've tried old friends from my school days in Guin, Alabama. I loved chocolate gravy, but couldn't find anyone that knew exactly how to make it. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rodeo, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I live in Texas & my grandmother made this all the time when we were little & my mom was growing up. My husband & I are the only ones that have continued the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
great recipe! I did add a little more chocolate and salt but overall, it's super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
takes minutes to make my friend from alabama was visiting and her gram would make this for her. nice that simple things can bring someone a moment of happiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States