Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was close. The flavor was good but it was fairly thick. This could have been that we cooked it too long. We will be trying it again with a few tweeks. Definitely needs the 1/4 teas salt and a full 1/2 cup of cocoa. We will probably decrease the flour slightly and add something to improve the flavor from good to great. We are thinking one of the following: cinnamon; more vanilla; chili flakes; almond extract.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I added a little more milk to make it not as thick and a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
With the addition of salt and more cocoa as suggested this is the perfect recipe! The kids loved it just like I did when my granny made it for me as a child. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I will try this recipe for supper tonight!!I will add the half cup of cocoa and a dash of salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I woke up early today to fix my mom something good for her breakfast this morning! And I was so excited to find your amazing recipe. Today is my mom's Birthday and she will be so happy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Tasted just like my mom's when I was a kid. Brought back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This taste like my Granny would make. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trucie4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battiest, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This is the first time i have tried this recipe, my mother-n-law and sister-n-law made my son some chocolate gravy and he loved it, they both have since passed and i didnt have their recipe. My son said that this was just like theirs!!! He Loved It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
IT WAS AMAZING! So smooth, I did add the 1/4 tsp of salt like other reviewers, it was just like I remember as a kid, not pudding like at all, some recipes taste like warm pudding instead of gravy, this is the recipe I've been waiting for, I too have gotten recipes handed down from generations, but no exact recipe so glad to see someone put it on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandy

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very good recipe. My husband has mentioned several times that he had chocolate gravy back in the 70's while visiting Alabama. I had never heard of it but found the recipe here and surprised him. He says 'thumbs up'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States