Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I can't tell you how long I've been searching for this recipe. I've tried old friends from my school days in Guin, Alabama. I loved chocolate gravy, but couldn't find anyone that knew exactly how to make it. Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rodeo, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I live in Texas & my grandmother made this all the time when we were little & my mom was growing up. My husband & I are the only ones that have continued the tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
great recipe! I did add a little more chocolate and salt but overall, it's super easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
takes minutes to make my friend from alabama was visiting and her gram would make this for her. nice that simple things can bring someone a moment of happiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
super good my hubby wants it all the time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suellen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Lodge, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My grandmaw made this every weekend for all her grandkids. She made it with huge homemade biscuits and sausage on the side. We loved it. Now I make it for my kids, who love it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
LOVE this! My best friend's mom would make this for us when we were growing up. I had been looking for a recipe similar to hers for awhile and this is it, right on the money! Smooth and creamy without being watery or runny. Great chocolate flavor and the leftovers store well in the fridge to be warmed up the next morning. Also yummy on waffles :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We enjoyed this a lot. It is really rich, so the last few times I've made it I've made both the chocolate and also some plain sausage gravy for the faint at heart. I've found that it's just a little too sweet and "dessert-y" for some. It's a fun thing to include in my breakfast rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Wonderful, reminds me of the first time I tasted it when I was a kid in the 50's. Easy to make and taste good. Thanks April for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
just as I remembered! (I did add about 1/4 tsp of salt though) not too thick, nor too sweet. I didn't think it needed the extra cocoa powder several people mentioned. I think that would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States