Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The gravy was delicious and the left over tasted like the filling for a chocolate pie so I saved it so someone in the family can eat it as a pudding if wanted. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita Barnes
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My husband is from the south and of course I am not, never heard of chocolate gravy until I got married. Tried this recipe tonight for dinner and the only issue we had was that there was not enough, so next time I have to double the recipe. No leftovers tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meg
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Best chocolate gravy ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I have never had chocolate gravy before, nor have I ever heard of it. I made it for dinner tonight (yep, dinner!), and it was a huge hit. I usually don't mess with recipes when I try them for the first time, but I did what another comment said and doubled the cocoa and added 1/4 tsp salt. Perfection! Very smooth, great flavor. I have some left over from dinner tonight, and I'm going to try putting it on ice cream. I think it would taste great on ice cream too. (And I'm not sure if I can reheat the leftovers?) I served the gravy with the cream biscuits from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe countless times, and it is a true weekend favorite for the family. I do add a pinch of salt and reduce the sugar some. A kid favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Timberweave
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This meal has more sentimental meaning than anything. This recipe is the closest I have found the one my grandma used when I would get to spend the night as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timberweave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Platte City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've always made chocolate gravy from boxed pudding, but this is so much better and more convenient since it's made from stuff I always have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Not many people have heard of Chocolate Gravy.... If you try it you will be hooked this has been passed down from my husbands family for several years..... AS SOMEONE said above a MUST increase cocoa to 1/2 cup and add salt about 1/4 tsp..... GREAT WITH BISCUITS AND PERSONALLY I PREFER LIGHT SPAM, YES SPAM FRY UPON BOTH SIDES AND ENJOY IT WITH BISCUITS & CHOCOLATE GRAVY DIP AND ENJOY..... can I say YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this gravy Christmas morning and it was very good and easy to make. I have never attempted to make gravy before and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States