Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Yes , !!! Finally a recipe that has brought me very close to my favorite 'Cracker Barrel" restaurant. This recipe was great .I used chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken,I find it easier to work with. I used the chicken broth instead of water in the dumplings& used enough to make a nice soft dough. I threw in a few handfuls of baby carrots while the chicken & broth simmered. I like the sauce on the creamy side instead of broth, so I added a 1/2 cup equal parts of cream,broth & flour and added it at the end . It thickened as it stood. BEAUTIFUL!!!! I cant wait until the kids go to bed so I can sit with the whole pot & a big spoon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE56

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2000
Fairly easy to make! Especially since it was my first attempt at dumplings like this. My family ate it all up! Tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
AWARD WINNING!The Dumplings really made this recipe. They were easy to make and if you treat the dough like pie dough and don't over mix, they come out sooooo tender. I cooked the chicken budget style: Frozen breasts with just a little chicken broth, black pepper and a bay leaf. Those of you who said the lemon gave it a funny flavor, should make sure your chicken is simmering and that the lemon is only in for about 30 minutes. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the directions stating to serve immediately. I let it rest and the broth thickened on its own within 30 minutes. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this dish with my Grandma, and boy did it bring back childhood memories. I added extra flour to thicken the broth a bit, but other than that it was scrumptious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TR21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
An excellent recipe. I used the chicken broth that I skimmed from the top (to reduce the fat in the broth),once I strained it, to replace the water when making the dumplings. I then reduced the shortening in the dumplings to 2- 2 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
The best recipe I've tried!!!! I just leave out the lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Whitson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nebo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Easy to make. Good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Very easy to follow and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was really good. My husband loved them and he doesn't really care for chicken and dumplings. I used chicken stock in place of water to boil the chicken and added some celery. I then cooled the broth and skimmed off the fat. I also used some of the broth to make the dumplings. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great recipe! Tastes just like those frozen egg noodles you can buy at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States