Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
AWARD WINNING!The Dumplings really made this recipe. They were easy to make and if you treat the dough like pie dough and don't over mix, they come out sooooo tender. I cooked the chicken budget style: Frozen breasts with just a little chicken broth, black pepper and a bay leaf. Those of you who said the lemon gave it a funny flavor, should make sure your chicken is simmering and that the lemon is only in for about 30 minutes. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the directions stating to serve immediately. I let it rest and the broth thickened on its own within 30 minutes. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Omitted the bay leaf, cause we don't like, added the lemon along with a little lemon zest. Put onions, garlic and lemon slices inside of chicken cavity. Cooked for an hour then deboned chicken, took, out onion and lemon and discarded. Used Pillsbury bisquits, pulled into pieces and added to mixture to make dumplings. My daughter loves this. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Used chicken tenderloins and frozen biscuits cut into eighths. Also jazzed up the broth a bit with heavy cream, a can of cream of celery soup, a can of cream of chicken soup. The chicken was very flavorful by itself. Loved adding lemon to the cooking water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
The best recipe I've tried!!!! I just leave out the lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Whitson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nebo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
An excellent recipe. I used the chicken broth that I skimmed from the top (to reduce the fat in the broth),once I strained it, to replace the water when making the dumplings. I then reduced the shortening in the dumplings to 2- 2 1/2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I agree with Rosepetals. You won't be finding any lemon and leaves in my dumplins. It just ain't happenin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I gave this recipe 3 stars because it does use the traditional Southern "slippery noodles" called "pastry". However, that is the only similiarity to being Southern that I saw. Lemon? Bay Leaf? Sounds like flavors above the M/D to me. For authenticity, add 1 teaspoon poultry seasoning to the chicken as it boils. A roaster or hen will give the better flavor. Skim the fat from the broth and use it to make the noodles. When done properly, this is a labor of love and takes the better part of a half day to accomplish. To properly complete the recipe, after all the noodles are added to the pot and it is allowed to simmer for about ten minutes; turn the heat off and cover. Allow to "rest" for another ten to fifteen minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I have to agree with JIMKAMOM. The lemon did give the broth a funny flavor. In addition, I prefer the bread type of dumplings over the flat dough type. It is not bad though, just not to my taste. Phoenix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Did not care for this type of dumpling. Like Bisquick better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States