Southern Style Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this is the perferct recipe except i use milk and butter instead of water and shortening to make the dumplings and i dont use lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was outstanding... I bit of work, but really yummy. One that will remain as a staple Chicken and Dumpling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texflix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
this is an awesome recipe ! everyone in the family loved it . i modified only slightly on the lemon , i used only 1 teaspoon of real lemon juice . i prepared this receipe for twelve however so basically i am with most other posters in the sense that i didnt care for that much lemon in mine. it was a very flavorful and when i was making it for the third time there was a thumbs up from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My dumplings came out doughier than I would have liked. Added carrots like suggested. Overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was ok,,but like the old fasion way a lot better with plain flour, makes for a stiffer dumpling. But this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I only used the dumplings part of the recipe. I substituted broth and butter for the water and shortening. I thought the dumplings were good. (And I'm a discriminating SOUTHERN cook! Lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
We did not like this recipe and by the time I added other ingredients to get it better suiting our taste it became a whole other recipe--I always have used butter instead of shortening making dumplings because it adds much more flavor as well as using broth instead of water and much more than 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Thanks for the recipe Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dymphna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Great job just like my Grandmothers Southern style dumplings and she was 100% Southern Thank You I changed a few things but that dont matter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great recipe! Tastes just like those frozen egg noodles you can buy at the grocery store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States