Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Oh my, I may be a Northern Girl but I know good Southern Fried Chicken when I taste it! I never grew up eating fried chicken and my husband had a craving for some good "Southern-Sytle" fried chicken so I read through a bunch of recipes but obviously knew that fried chicken has to be moist my on the inside and the breading has to be thick enough to stand up to the frying process so it can be crunchy on the outside. This recipe is perfect because it has a buttermilk marinade. I put the cut up chicken in a glass bowl and filled it with the marinade. I turned the chicken a few times during 6 hours. I drained the chicken in a colander and patted it dry then breaded it in the flour. For the flour mixture I used 3 cups flour, 1 Tbsp. garlic powder, 1 Tbsp. onion powder, 2 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. salt. 1 tsp. pepper. I then follwed the steps outlined in this recipe. We used an electric fryer so our cooking time was a bit less than 30 minutes. You have to watch your chicken closely. I don't know which I like better -fried chicken that's fresh out of the frier warm or cold out of the fridge the next day. Either way, I'm hooked! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that definitely makes "Southern-Sytle Buttermik Fried Chicken"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this for a BBQ and everyone loved it! I personally would have preferred a bit more spice in the batter and will correct that next time. Also, it should be noted that this is not a quick dish to make, legs and thighs can take up to 15-20 mins and if you're doing this in small batches, you'll be cooking for awhile. I did my frying in a cast iron dutch oven the grill - hardest part was regulating the oil's temperature. Any more than 350-360 degrees and the batter will burn before the chicken is cooked. Any less and the chicken will absorb too much oil. Also, I did not double-dip, the butterilk was so thick and held so much flour that I felt it unnecessary. The baking powder really makes the batter increase in volume while cooking - don't leave it out! I will definitely make this again but with a bit more spice in the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
followed recipe to exact except dijon mustard but only cause i didnt have any on hand but overall taste was still delish...family loved it also...will be making this again thanks for the yummy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matykada

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was just fantastic.....droolworthy!! I added a few good splashes of hot sauce in the buttermilk marinade mixture, & some paprika in the flour mixture - but no other changes than that. Used the drippings to whip up some chicken cream gravy. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was wonderful. I used breasts cut into 1/4s. I also cut back on the cayenne because I was concerned that it would be too spicy for my kids. It wasn't spicy at all! It was wonderful! Will make again. My husband made white gravy to go with it and couldn't stop eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chryz
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
i used chicken thighs and drumstick...this chicken turned out great...will be keeping this recipe...also served it with waffles---yumm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The coating didn't have very much flavor, in my opinion. I used the seasonings exactly as written but it needed a lot more salt. I think the double dipping made it too bready and the coating turned very dark before the chicken was done. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
great flavor.....I used just chicken breasts....probably should have used smaller ones, they were a little tough, but not the fault of the recipe. Easy to make and a wonderful flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Excellent. I make tenders with this recipe. True southern style taste and texture. Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out beautifully. Looks like chicken from a restaurant. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Oh my GOODNESS! This recipe makes phenomenal chicken fingers!! I used two 16oz. packages of free range chicken tenderloins which ended up being about 18 in number. I mixed up the buttermilk marinade using 1/2 and 1/2 spicy brown and dijon mustards. I added about a teaspoon of a spice mixture I use for regular roasted chicken in addition to the spices called for and also used a tad less cayenne because I didn't want overkill for my kids, and it was the perfect amount of kick. I let the tenderloins sit in the marinade in the fridge for about 6 hours before breading them. In the breading mixture I added 1 tsp. each paprika, salt, and white pepper. I grabbed each tenderloin and tossed them one at a time in the flour mixture before letting them "set" on a cookie sheet sprinkled with more flour. To fry I only used about a cup of Spectrum palm oil shortening (it is non-hydrogenated) in a hefty saute pan over medium high heat. I flipped the fingers when the edges were opaque and the bottoms were deep golden brown. (It easily took less than 4 minutes per side.) I did about 6 fingers per batch and drained them on paper towels layered over a cooking rack. They fried up quickly - the first tenders out of the pan were still warm by the end of the third batch. These were INCREDIBLE. They FAR outdid the best chicken tenders we have ever had with our kids at any restaurant (even high end places couldn't top this!). It made a little mess, but at the end it was totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States