Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this for a BBQ and everyone loved it! I personally would have preferred a bit more spice in the batter and will correct that next time. Also, it should be noted that this is not a quick dish to make, legs and thighs can take up to 15-20 mins and if you're doing this in small batches, you'll be cooking for awhile. I did my frying in a cast iron dutch oven the grill - hardest part was regulating the oil's temperature. Any more than 350-360 degrees and the batter will burn before the chicken is cooked. Any less and the chicken will absorb too much oil. Also, I did not double-dip, the butterilk was so thick and held so much flour that I felt it unnecessary. The baking powder really makes the batter increase in volume while cooking - don't leave it out! I will definitely make this again but with a bit more spice in the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Excellent! Its become a family favorite, We use chicken breast cut in small strips serve with potatoes and country gravy Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I ended up having issues with the recipe that were my fault, not the recipes. I wish I had used bone-in chicken pieces but I used skinless boneless chicken breasts because that's what I had. It turned out that the batter got dark and crisp WAY before the chicken breasts were cooked through because of that. Also, I skipped the Dijon mustard due to preference. I also did not use a cast iron skillet because I didn't have one, perhaps that would have helped. The chicken tasted great, but the batter, once crisp, kept sliding off and I ended up with a bald chicken breast with broken pieces of batter piled on top - so not so great presentation but I will make it again with the necessary changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Excellent! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I think it would have been better with just salt and pepper to flavor the batter. The onion powder gave it an odd flavor that I wasn't expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made this with legs and thighs and I have a big deep fryer that runs on propane. I had a picnic today and made them, OMG, the best, people were going back for 2nds and 3rds! The only thing I would do differently is to add a little bit of salt somewhere. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was just fantastic.....droolworthy!! I added a few good splashes of hot sauce in the buttermilk marinade mixture, & some paprika in the flour mixture - but no other changes than that. Used the drippings to whip up some chicken cream gravy. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
my husband loved this one!!!!the crust was sooo crispy and not burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burna, Kentucky, USA
Living In: South Fulton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Excellent. I make tenders with this recipe. True southern style taste and texture. Follow the recipe exactly and it turns out beautifully. Looks like chicken from a restaurant. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it was totally tasteless. I gave it two stars instead of one because it was very crispy. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States