Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Flavor is great. I breaded twice and let them sit before frying and that worked really well. I also used spicy mustard (didn't have Dijon) and chicken tenders. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this the night before last and let it marinade for 24 hours. I fried it last night and it was very good. I had to finish in the oven though because my oil was too hot and started to burn. Next time, I'll keep the heat at a mid-low instead of mid-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious, my new fried chicken favorite. Crisp and flavorful breading that stays on and is still perfect for a cold lunch after a night in the fridge. Dry ingredients were short for a nice and heavy double breading, so I increase the dry ingredient dip by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My husband made this, and reported thtat the crust was very crispy, but that it was a little too thick due to the double-dipping process. The crust also got a little too overdone before the meat was fully cooked. Followed the recipe exactly as written, but just turned out okay...not the mind-blowing chicken he was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I will keep this recipe for all my fried chicken from now on. I made chicken tenders from large chicken breasts and they were a big hit with all who ate them. I used ground brown mustard instead of dijon because that is what I had, but this is an excellent recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Benton Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cut them into chunks. My chicken marinated overnight, and though the double-dipping was work, it was totally worth it. The chicken was tender, the breading was flavorful and crisp. I didn't bother to measure the cooking oil, but there wasn't much. I think I may make this again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This pleased my family. I didn't have Dijon so I used spicy brown mustard instead and cut the cayenne in half. I used boneless meat and cut it into strips. What a nice meal this made. It wasn't one of my personal favorites but my husband said this was "one of the better ones". Thanks, we enjoyed a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
The BEST buttermilk fried chicken......one time flour coat is enough.....chicken was VERY moist....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Absolutely loved this recipe my family did too .. The marinade and the seasoning was perfect, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States