Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Lol, I had trouble with this recipe too but the odds were stacked against me! I can cook a perfect veal blanquette and a Thai Pad to ace out most restaurants but when it comes to fried chicken, I still seem to have problems. First of all, this recipe doesn't tell you what kind of oil to use. I've always heard Crisco Shortening is the best for fried chicken but I had to resort to vegetable oil. Second of all, I didn't pre-season the meat so it came out a bit bland. It kinda surprised me because I brined the chicken for twelve hours before I marinaded it in the buttermilk mixture for 6 1/2 hrs. After the cooking was done, I came to the opinion that the pieces I used were just too big. The picture shows much smaller pieces than what I used. My chicken didn't scorch but it was a bit darker than it should've been. I'm betting other users of this website had the same problem, such as Cindy in Pensacola! Overall, I give the recipe 3 stars for omitting the oil type and, secondly, for not adding a pre-seasoning to the meat before the first marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Sorry, but followed this to the letter and was way too bland. Did not really enjoy the taste. I even marinaded for about 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I did like this recipe the chicken tasted so good nice and crunchy and tender inside the only bad thing is that when i did this for dinner for 6 ppl i used tenders and it tuck me so long to do the hole flour part i did like that it staid crunchy even when cold this is going 2 be a recipe i will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSAIRA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
We thought that this recipe was wonderful. The meat was nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cullinary advocate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is to die for fried chicken... hubby's favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was my first foray into fried chicken and I have to say it was a collective success. I had to turn the heat down to med-low. Med-high was too hot. My first 3 thighs had overdone crusts but the other two batches with the lower temp came out beautifully. I also cooked chicken tenders and they were crispy and juicy. As with some of the other comments I also would have added salt and pepper to the flour mixture. It needs a bit more flavor. I also had to make more flour mixture to do the second coating.Overall everyone loved the chicken and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Flavor is great. I breaded twice and let them sit before frying and that worked really well. I also used spicy mustard (didn't have Dijon) and chicken tenders. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this the night before last and let it marinade for 24 hours. I fried it last night and it was very good. I had to finish in the oven though because my oil was too hot and started to burn. Next time, I'll keep the heat at a mid-low instead of mid-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious, my new fried chicken favorite. Crisp and flavorful breading that stays on and is still perfect for a cold lunch after a night in the fridge. Dry ingredients were short for a nice and heavy double breading, so I increase the dry ingredient dip by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My husband made this, and reported thtat the crust was very crispy, but that it was a little too thick due to the double-dipping process. The crust also got a little too overdone before the meat was fully cooked. Followed the recipe exactly as written, but just turned out okay...not the mind-blowing chicken he was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States