Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is to die for fried chicken... hubby's favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This was my first foray into fried chicken and I have to say it was a collective success. I had to turn the heat down to med-low. Med-high was too hot. My first 3 thighs had overdone crusts but the other two batches with the lower temp came out beautifully. I also cooked chicken tenders and they were crispy and juicy. As with some of the other comments I also would have added salt and pepper to the flour mixture. It needs a bit more flavor. I also had to make more flour mixture to do the second coating.Overall everyone loved the chicken and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! Flavor is great. I breaded twice and let them sit before frying and that worked really well. I also used spicy mustard (didn't have Dijon) and chicken tenders. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this the night before last and let it marinade for 24 hours. I fried it last night and it was very good. I had to finish in the oven though because my oil was too hot and started to burn. Next time, I'll keep the heat at a mid-low instead of mid-high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious, my new fried chicken favorite. Crisp and flavorful breading that stays on and is still perfect for a cold lunch after a night in the fridge. Dry ingredients were short for a nice and heavy double breading, so I increase the dry ingredient dip by 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
My husband made this, and reported thtat the crust was very crispy, but that it was a little too thick due to the double-dipping process. The crust also got a little too overdone before the meat was fully cooked. Followed the recipe exactly as written, but just turned out okay...not the mind-blowing chicken he was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MollyBrook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I will keep this recipe for all my fried chicken from now on. I made chicken tenders from large chicken breasts and they were a big hit with all who ate them. I used ground brown mustard instead of dijon because that is what I had, but this is an excellent recipe as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Benton Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and cut them into chunks. My chicken marinated overnight, and though the double-dipping was work, it was totally worth it. The chicken was tender, the breading was flavorful and crisp. I didn't bother to measure the cooking oil, but there wasn't much. I think I may make this again tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Good recipe! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This pleased my family. I didn't have Dijon so I used spicy brown mustard instead and cut the cayenne in half. I used boneless meat and cut it into strips. What a nice meal this made. It wasn't one of my personal favorites but my husband said this was "one of the better ones". Thanks, we enjoyed a nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States