Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing. Instead of using a whole chicken, I used chicken tenderloins. I added a touch of tobasco sauce and it was just delicious. The crust was so light and fluffy. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Maybe someone coud tell me why when I fried this the batter fell almost completely off? I was so disappointed as the batter was delicious! I have made fired chicken all my life using regular milk and eggs, then dipped in seasoned flour, and this never happened. I browned the chicken in the fry pan and will cook it through on a rack in the oven to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was okay. I did not have Dijon mustard so I used spices mustard.... It's what I had in the house. I let the chicken set for 4 hours in the refrigerator in the buttermilk mixture. I have tried several fried chicken recipes from this site and sometimes the recipes are a little bland in flavor for me. After reading the reviews a few people said that it was bland so I made sure to add additional seasoning in the flour mix. My chicken came out really flavorful. The only reason why I rated this recipe with 3 stars is because my boyfriend was not a fan of the double dipping skin. The next time I cook this recipe, I won't double dip the chicken. Hopefully he will like it a little better. I believe the chicken will still be crispy..... It was just a little too much batter for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Followed the Recipe and It was too bland. I even marinated it for 9 hours. To bad because it smelt so good but did not match in taste. I'm not sure how it recieved so many 5 stars. Will not make his again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is perfect Southern style Buttermilk fried chicken! I made a bagel sandwich with it, and everybody loved it so much! I added a little bit of extra salt, and poked chicken with a fork so it would absorb more buttermilk. Chicken was tender and very tasty. It’s a good party recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Lol, I had trouble with this recipe too but the odds were stacked against me! I can cook a perfect veal blanquette and a Thai Pad to ace out most restaurants but when it comes to fried chicken, I still seem to have problems. First of all, this recipe doesn't tell you what kind of oil to use. I've always heard Crisco Shortening is the best for fried chicken but I had to resort to vegetable oil. Second of all, I didn't pre-season the meat so it came out a bit bland. It kinda surprised me because I brined the chicken for twelve hours before I marinaded it in the buttermilk mixture for 6 1/2 hrs. After the cooking was done, I came to the opinion that the pieces I used were just too big. The picture shows much smaller pieces than what I used. My chicken didn't scorch but it was a bit darker than it should've been. I'm betting other users of this website had the same problem, such as Cindy in Pensacola! Overall, I give the recipe 3 stars for omitting the oil type and, secondly, for not adding a pre-seasoning to the meat before the first marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Sorry, but followed this to the letter and was way too bland. Did not really enjoy the taste. I even marinaded for about 6 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I did like this recipe the chicken tasted so good nice and crunchy and tender inside the only bad thing is that when i did this for dinner for 6 ppl i used tenders and it tuck me so long to do the hole flour part i did like that it staid crunchy even when cold this is going 2 be a recipe i will do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSAIRA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
We thought that this recipe was wonderful. The meat was nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mongolia11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is to die for fried chicken... hubby's favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States