Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
buttermilk didnt give any different taste coating just fell off legs while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Lamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Delish. Entire family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I only make fried chicken once a year. This year I tried this recipe after trying others by celebrity chefs and "lifestyle mavens" other years in search for the perfect recipe.This one is by far the best. One thing I swear by is having an electric skillet. It keeps an even temp for the oil and you don't have to guess when oil is at right temperature. My chickens were perfectly crunchy and omnom-y.. Until next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Must increase the spices/salt otherwise the chicken will be bland. I have also found that one dip is enough. Other wise its too thick and the batter burns a little. Do not crowd the chicken as well. So you will be cooking for a while. This also renders the oil useless for those of that like to re-use oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe is great, add in my own extra seasoning for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
So good and so simple! My husband and I made this just yesterday and it was delicious! The only change I would (will) make is more pepper, but I like to follow directions exactly the first time around before making adjustments. ;) I will definitely keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the way chicken supost to b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The coating wouldn't stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Takes a while but worth it. Ended up using only legs as that's what I had. Put a ton of extra seasoning in the flour mix but it didn't hold in, though the chicken itself was amazing. Hubby ate half of it by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I myself am giving it a 4 but my grown daughter gives it a 5. I did keep to the recipe except I did add some salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I kept chicken in buttermilk mixture 3 hrs, I'll do longer next time. I thought it was good but next time I might add more more seasoning for myself. Make sure your oil isn't too hot and you won't burn it. I started out on med and then moved it a little lower after I flipped the chicken. 15 mins on each side for me but you really need to watch it while cooking. Don't let your oil overheat. The breading was a little tougher than I'm use to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States