Southern-Style Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
So good and so simple! My husband and I made this just yesterday and it was delicious! The only change I would (will) make is more pepper, but I like to follow directions exactly the first time around before making adjustments. ;) I will definitely keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is the way chicken supost to b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
The coating wouldn't stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Takes a while but worth it. Ended up using only legs as that's what I had. Put a ton of extra seasoning in the flour mix but it didn't hold in, though the chicken itself was amazing. Hubby ate half of it by himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I myself am giving it a 4 but my grown daughter gives it a 5. I did keep to the recipe except I did add some salt and pepper to the flour mixture. I kept chicken in buttermilk mixture 3 hrs, I'll do longer next time. I thought it was good but next time I might add more more seasoning for myself. Make sure your oil isn't too hot and you won't burn it. I started out on med and then moved it a little lower after I flipped the chicken. 15 mins on each side for me but you really need to watch it while cooking. Don't let your oil overheat. The breading was a little tougher than I'm use to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing. Instead of using a whole chicken, I used chicken tenderloins. I added a touch of tobasco sauce and it was just delicious. The crust was so light and fluffy. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Maybe someone coud tell me why when I fried this the batter fell almost completely off? I was so disappointed as the batter was delicious! I have made fired chicken all my life using regular milk and eggs, then dipped in seasoned flour, and this never happened. I browned the chicken in the fry pan and will cook it through on a rack in the oven to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was okay. I did not have Dijon mustard so I used spices mustard.... It's what I had in the house. I let the chicken set for 4 hours in the refrigerator in the buttermilk mixture. I have tried several fried chicken recipes from this site and sometimes the recipes are a little bland in flavor for me. After reading the reviews a few people said that it was bland so I made sure to add additional seasoning in the flour mix. My chicken came out really flavorful. The only reason why I rated this recipe with 3 stars is because my boyfriend was not a fan of the double dipping skin. The next time I cook this recipe, I won't double dip the chicken. Hopefully he will like it a little better. I believe the chicken will still be crispy..... It was just a little too much batter for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Followed the Recipe and It was too bland. I even marinated it for 9 hours. To bad because it smelt so good but did not match in taste. I'm not sure how it recieved so many 5 stars. Will not make his again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is perfect Southern style Buttermilk fried chicken! I made a bagel sandwich with it, and everybody loved it so much! I added a little bit of extra salt, and poked chicken with a fork so it would absorb more buttermilk. Chicken was tender and very tasty. It’s a good party recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States