Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
wow,this is so good and easy to make.what a treat for kids and kids at heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I've made this before and it's yummy! I change it up a bit, though. After the crust and cream cheese mixture I put a layer of instant banana pudding then layer the bananas on top of that. I like the banana taste and it just evens out the entire dessert. I use 2 small boxes to 1 cup milk. It will be really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ms.Chris
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I must say this cake was great- except for the sugar in the crust. Omit the 3/4 cup of white sugar in the crust and it will be perfect! My family loved it but the crust made it a little too sweet. It was still gone in a matter of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Wonderful dessert. A drizzle of hot fudge sauce would take this over the top! Perfect summer dessert. My husband loved it and so did our company. I will definetly make this a lot. It is now one of my favorites! Thank you for submitting this!!! I would advise that you add about a TBLSP of lemon juice to the sliced bananas to prevent them from turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
i think it's okay... nothing spectacular. my daughters, 5 & 4, said, "we only like the banana... and the [crust]."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this cake for the 4th of July. It was really easy to make! My family went crazy over it! I put the crust in the freezer to get it really hard, and I softened the cream cheese before mixing it, so didn't have any problems spreading the cream cheese layer. Also, I put strawberries and blueberries on top instead of cherries and peanuts. This was a really delicious, addicting dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Not that impressed. It could have been that I don't have access to real whip cream and had to use a mix ( I live in Honduras). I don't know but I love desserts and I won't make this again. Maybe whipping the cream cheese and sugar would have been better. Adding vanilla maybe? oh well, there's other recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was sooo yummy!!! I made it for our Family Easter get together. Once we put dessert out it was gone in 15 minutes. The only thing I changed was I used 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup of sugar when mixing the crust. I also sliced strawberries and put them on top of the cake instead of cherries. I had several requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! For an change of pace, try substituting crushed vanilla wafers for the graham cracker crumbs. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Excellent...everyone at worked loved it. I used about 6 ounces peanuts and a small jar of cherries. I think it would be way too much as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States