Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I made this last weekend and it reminded me so much of my mother that I cried. It is fantastic and just the way I remember as a child!!! My kids loved helping and eating. It last 1 day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This is delicious! I've made it twice now (4 pies) and it has disappeared every time. The changes I made were pretty minor: I used 2 store bought graham cracker pie crusts in place of making the crust and pressing it into a 9x13, sprinkled walnuts on top, and then drizzled chocolate (the kind that hardens) over the nuts and cherries. To get the chocolate to set, I just put the pies in the freezer for a few minutes and then transferred them to the fridge. This is a keeper - especially for parties and family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A co-worker gave me this recipe about 10 years ago but lost my favorite personal recipe book during a move, I was so glad to find it here at Allrecipes again! It's a fun, simple, delicious recipe, THANK YOU Tammy, you made my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I followed the directions exactly on this recipe and WOW! I got rave reviews! I made it for a welcome home party for my cousin and it was the only dessert completely gone! Two thumbs up just like it is listed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Ison Coulter

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My hubby will be mad I found this recipe! He thought it was "his" little secret! :o) He makes this in a jelly roll pan so it's thinner (which I like) and doesn't use the peanuts on top. This is the perfect summer recipe for a barbeque or to munch on while sitting by the pool. It tastes deceptively light but it is most definitely not a low calorie dessert. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was good on the first day, and much better the next day. Hubby and his friend liked it with chocolate syrup, but I thought that made the cake too sweet. My biggest complaint was that this cake, although good, was not worth the cost we paid for all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was my was my favorite dessert years ago when I was a young kid. I went searching specifically for this recipe and was so happy to find it here. (seeing the pic, I knew this is what I was looking for) I took Natalie's advice and cut back on the sugar to 1/4 cup, used crushed pecans (because I had them on hand) and drizzled hershey's syrup before serving. My kids loved it ! I am certain that I will be making this upon request for years to come. -walt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wkdmh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
very tasty although i did dazzle the top with chocolate syrup, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My husband requested that I make a "banana split cake" for him to bring to work. I'm so glad that I decided to use this recipe! The only thing I changed was to omit the peanuts. I also made homemade whipped cream (it makes a big difference!) Using an electric mixer I mix 1 cup of heavy cream with a splash of vanilla and 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar. I beat it until it starts to get a little stiff. Anyway, all the guys loved it and requested that I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Thsi cake was really good. It would have been better if I hadn't messed up on the recipe by putting 1/4 cup instead of 1/4 lb. Everything else about it was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States