Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Delicious! I freeze the crust and cream cheese layers way ahead of time, to save work. I whip one pint of heavy cream rather than whipped topping. I thinly slice 4 cups of strawberrries, mixed with 2 tablespoons of sugar, rather than using the cherries. I layer the bananas, then pineapple, then strawberries, then whipped cream. I toast 1/2 cups of sliced almonds and sprinkle them on top, rather than peanuts. Our family likes this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I added fresh strawberries, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Breezy
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I made this for my dad's retirement party and got rave reviews! I did, however, change the crust. I used vanilla wafers and added about 3/4 cup ground peanuts. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract to the cream cheese mix, a layer of strawberry pie filling, and chocolate and sprinkles on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vassar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was terrific and even better the next day. I added some defrosted frozen sliced strawberries and chocolate shavings on top, just to replicate the taste of a real banana split. The advice to freeze the graham cracker crust before trying to spread out the cream cheese mixture was very helpful. I will be making this again especially since it comes together so easy and it's no bake! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Amazing - brought it to work for a friend's birthday (she's from the south) and I already gave the recipe to 3 people. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
great recipe ! I the only thing I changed was I left out the pinapple and I covered the cake with chocolate chips ! This is the most delicious cake me and my family have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was my mothers recipe almost to the "T". a couple of things i have learned from making it over the years: 1. before putting on the cream cheese freeze the crust for a few hours, will make your life a lot easier 2. adding vanilla adds an excellent little flavor (it does get hidden amongst the flavors but you can tell its there) 3. soaking the bananas in the pineapple juice (dont get the heavy syrup kind) will keep the bananas from turning brown before you get to serve it. plus the pineapple/banana juice you just made tastes good too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buzz Buzzard Jr.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This sure is a crowd pleaser! YUMMO! I made up some homemade hot fudge sauce (1 cup choco chips, 1/2 cup cream, 1/3 cup corn syrup & melted on stove) to serve along side! I also used light cream cheese and light whipped topping and you couldn't tell. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Awesome recipe!! The only thing I changed was adding 1/2 c sugar to the crust instead of 3/4 c. Will make again but think I will use even less sugar in the crust. I also shredded up a Hersheys bar to make the top all pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Fab!!! I made this for church and it was a huge hit. I left off the nuts due to allergies and drizzled with fudge sauce, other than those minor changes I followed the recipe. I doubled the recipe and there are NO leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States