Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
When I tried this I had to know how to make it! This is wonderful! This is going in my recipe box, one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Delightful treat especially as it gets warmer outside! I used chopped pecans and the new baking cream cheese spread, it is wonderful and will make your baking so much easier!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I need to get my mom's recipe for this dessert because her's is PERFECT. I made this one yesterday as the recipe states. It's very good but alittle on the bland side. I know my mom's had choc. syrup on top and the filling had a distinct butter flavor that was out of this world. In fact, if I remember correctly she mentioned once how the filling had a whole stick of butter in it. Well, I liked this one OK but will contact my mom to get her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My husband remembered this cake from his childhood and said the recipe was actually nicer than his mothers. I've never had this type of cake before, it was lovely. Very easy to prepare. Wear gloves when putting the cherries on or your finger tips will turn bright red!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe. I let my cake refrigerate overnight. Some changes I did to the recipe: 1. After pressing the graham cracker mixture(made from scratch) at the bottom of the pan, I baked it at 350 for 15 minutes. I then let it cool off by placing it in the freezer for at least 20 minutes. 2. I used 3 (8 ounce) packages of cream cheese instead of 2. That change required me to use 2 1/4 cups of confectioners' sugar instead of 1 1/2. (I used more because it's a challenge to spread the cream cheese mixture[if made with 2 packages] over the prepared graham cracker crust without picking up pieces of the crust. Using 2 cream cheese packages is not enough in my opinion. Using 3 cream cheese packages was much easier and quicker for me to spread the cream cheese mixture over the graham cracker crust.) 3. Not a minor change, but I used a 20 ounce can of drained pineapple, instead of using a 15 ounce can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Allie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I saw mini Keebler graham cracker pie crusts and just had to make them. Absolutely delicious! I don't think anyone would not like these! I made 12 mini pies with 1 - 8oz pk. cream cheese, 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla mix. I soaked the bananas in the pineapple juice following the reviews. Put a layer of bananas on, layer of pineapple (soaked up some juice with paper towels), whip cream, peanuts, caramel squiggle, cut strawberry pieces sprinkled with sugar, hot fudge squiggle. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I turned this recipe into a pie, with the already made graham cracker pie crust. Huge huge hit. I sent them to work with my husband and the men (hes a coal miner) Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Took this to a dinner party last night for dessert. Everyone liked it, but we all agreed that it needed more banana and more chocolate. I omitted the nuts due to dietary restrictions. Only used 8oz of whipped topping-16oz seemed like way to much. I also only used a 6oz jar of maraschino cherries - again, I think 16oz would have just been too many. Overall, it was good, but I will look for a different dessert recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edensmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
WOW! It was amazing! Made it for a small get together and got RAVE reviews! Subbed the peanuts for pecans....other then that i followed to the T. Great recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Braiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This came out a little 'watery'. It is not a good dish 2 days later. Ingredients seem to separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly Bean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States