Southern Style Banana Split Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This has always been my favorite! Freeze the crust for about 15 minutes so spreading the cream cheese is easier. I use Pecans instead of peanuts. I do use a little less white sugar (about 1/2 a cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Super Summer Treat! Instead of cream cheese/confect sugar filling: for speed, I used 2 Pkg.(3.4 oz each) Jello French Vanilla Instant Pudding whisked for 2 min with 2 3/4 cups of fat free milk. Made it night before including the bananas & all was fresh. Keep & serve cold. Dr O.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
OMG!!! This is wonderful. I made this recipe for a father's day cookout. I did add swirls of chocolate syrup on top with the nuts and cherries. Everyone could not stop eating this desert. It went so fast i barely got a piece myself. I will be keeping this recipe at the top of my list and serving this time and time again. THANKS for a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I love this dessert!! A couple of things I do: add 1 tsp vanilla or almond extract or 1/2 of each to the cream cheese filling; I also freeze the crust for at least 1 hr before spreading cream cheese filling then freeze the cream cheese spreaded crust before layering the fruit. I spread crushed pineapples then bananas then cut or chopped strawberries then spread cool whip. Then sprinkle chocolate on top. It's always a huge hit & never any leftovers. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Nash

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is the exact recipe that my grandmother used to make me for my birthday every year when I was growing up. It is my absolute favorite desert ever. She passed away a year ago. Of all the recipes that I wish I could have gotten from her this one is it. Thank you so much for posting this! It really means so much to me that I will be able to make it in remembrance of her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This is a kid friendly recipe. It is so easy to make and is soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was very good - the kids couldn't get enough of it. I used home made whipped cream and extra bananas. Nice summer treat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
was very yummy only lasted about two days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is almost the same recipe my family has followed. We add a can of cherry pie filling on top of the cream cheese and top off the cake with walnut pieces, cheries, and chocolate syrup. I find this cake very versatile based on you favorite banana split toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TYKIE
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made a flag for July 4 with 50 blueberries for the stars (a row of 6, then a row of 5, etc. for 50 states) and 7 rows of strawberries (my slices are too thin, but I was afraid I would not have enough room). For authenticity, the top row should be red and the last row red. Four rows of red beside the blueberries and 3 rows below. It was a trick to calculate but the result was impressive. It was a very refreshing fruit dessert for a hot summer day. I borrowed some hints and made the following modifications: I made the graham cracker crust and baked it at 350 degrees for 15 minutes as suggested. That is too long; the crust had a slightly burned taste at the edges. Next time, I will cook it 5 minutes and refrigerate it while creaming the cream cheese. In the cream cheese mixture, I added banana extract, because one reviewer said without vanilla it tasted bland. What a great taste! Don't just strain the crushed pineapple; wrap it in paper towel and let it strain over night. Pineapple will seem dry, but it keeps the cake from becoming runny, yet tasty. Makes it real easy to handle. I spread the creamed cheese mixture in the crust; refrigerated it over night. It was SO easy to spread the next day. After I calculated the blue berries and strawberries for the flag, I put the rest of the box of blueberries and more strawberries in the middle, after the bananas but before the pineapple. After I made the flag, I refrigerated the whole thing for at least 2 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States