Southern Spicy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I also doubled the cayenne and hot pepper sauce. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I used chicken tenderloins instead of a whole chicken and they turned out really well. I made 2 batches over the coarse of 3 days and found the first batch to be a little lacking in the heat department so during the next batch I tripled the hot sauce in the marinade and tripled the cayenne in the breading and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This sounds great and I will try it some day but I will cut the recipe down to 4-6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk overnight. It didn't seem spicy to me, but it crusted nicely and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is a copy of the the Neely Family Spicy Fried Chicken recipe from FoodNetwork.com with one variation . . . vegetable oil versus the recommended peanut oil. I like it with peanut oil best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
LEAVE THE SKIN ON THE CHICKEN! dont do what i did (trim the skin off the chicken; i did it w/o thinking as i always de-skin chicken ) i followed this to a T .. however, i added raw garlic & onion to the buttermik bath & soaked the chicken in it for 4 hrs. i did not use hot sauce or garlic powder . & i added creole seasoning to the flour . (which i put in a ziploc & shimmy shook the chicken in that ) i also let the coated chicken peices "paste" in the coating before frying. i used a cast iron pan & filled it 1/3 w/veg oil. i only turned the chicken ONCE. & that was after 10-15 mins of frying on the 1st side. this was THE BEST , JUICIEST fried chicken ive ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe for old fashioned home fried chicken. One of the best I've made. Not spicy enough for me though but next time I'll spice it more. Overall GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Among one of the best fried chicken recipes iv'e ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was the best and crispiest fried chicken I have had. Better than any restaurant. The chicken was moist and the coating did not come away in the pan. I cooked it in my grandfathers cast iron chicken fryer with a mixture of vegetable oil and duck fat. The flavour was amazing. Even the leftovers tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I just made this Word for Word. I think it needs to maranate a little longer ( like overnight ? ) OR at least all day. Anyway, My Wife and I loved it... Also, we had left over batter so we Deep fried some Mushrooms alond side of this Chicken. Yum Yum. Next time, I'll use more Hot Sauce and Cayenne as we love it spicy. Thanks Maureen. I'll be making this again next week.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States