Southern Spicy Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great recipe. I used chicken tenderloins instead of a whole chicken and they turned out really well. I made 2 batches over the coarse of 3 days and found the first batch to be a little lacking in the heat department so during the next batch I tripled the hot sauce in the marinade and tripled the cayenne in the breading and that did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe for old fashioned home fried chicken. One of the best I've made. Not spicy enough for me though but next time I'll spice it more. Overall GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
LEAVE THE SKIN ON THE CHICKEN! dont do what i did (trim the skin off the chicken; i did it w/o thinking as i always de-skin chicken ) i followed this to a T .. however, i added raw garlic & onion to the buttermik bath & soaked the chicken in it for 4 hrs. i did not use hot sauce or garlic powder . & i added creole seasoning to the flour . (which i put in a ziploc & shimmy shook the chicken in that ) i also let the coated chicken peices "paste" in the coating before frying. i used a cast iron pan & filled it 1/3 w/veg oil. i only turned the chicken ONCE. & that was after 10-15 mins of frying on the 1st side. this was THE BEST , JUICIEST fried chicken ive ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindalnv

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemead, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This recipe is a copy of the the Neely Family Spicy Fried Chicken recipe from FoodNetwork.com with one variation . . . vegetable oil versus the recommended peanut oil. I like it with peanut oil best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was really good. I soaked the chicken in buttermilk overnight. It didn't seem spicy to me, but it crusted nicely and was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I didn't like this recipe at all, but my husband did. I love spicy southern fried chicken, but this just didn't taste right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Great recipe - especially like the addition of cayenne and hot sauce - it gave the chicken some zest without being over powering. I also used a red/black pepper blend in the flour, which gave it extra flavor. I used a whole chicken, cut up and fried my pieces in my electric skillet and then transferrred them to a hot oven 350-375 to finish cooking. I also brined the chicken pieces in an ice water/salt bath (so they would bleed) for about 40 minutes before putting them in buttermilk - because of the salt water bath, I omitted all salt. Will definitely be making this again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Excellent! It's a keeper. I'll be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
So delicious! I omitted the hot pepper sauce and used 1/2 tsp of cayenne for the buttermilk mixture and 1 tsp of cayenne for the flour mixture because I didn't want it to be too spicy for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States