Southern Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome dinner. Very tasty and filling, and really easy to make. Classic "comfort food" at it's best. I will definitely be making this again. Stuck to the recipe as it was, and everyone loved it. 5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I came searching for this recipe. I used to make it, and we all LOVED it! I called it Slop, because it looks just awful. Tastes great, though. I agree with those who said it really needs the pepper. I like to add a little red pepper, too. Oh, and I've made it with just green beans if that's all I had, and that's always really good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This was a good starter recipe. I added in some squash and zucchini, 1/2 cup milk, and served over rice. I also used all frozen our fresh veggies. I'm not big on canned veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I read the reviews and than I made this my own, I browned the hamburger with brown sugar (thanks to the lady who came up with that idea!!)about 6tsp and I also used garlic salt lots of pepper, red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, sage, white pepper, garlic powder, and thyme. I also cut up half an onion and cooked it with the hamburger, I drained it and put one can cream of mushroom, corn, & sliced potatoes. Instead of peas I used green beans. I also put in a half a jar of salsa and 2 tsp of mustard. It was spicy and really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used leftovers from another recipe (Creamy Potato Lasagna sans broccoli) instead of the canned potatoes and I really think it made this dish. I also omitted peas because we don't care for them. Hubby didn't like the corn in it but I don't mind it. Recipe as is would probably be a little bland but adding your own seasonings to it would perk it up. I probably wouldn't make this with regular potatoes since I used the potatoes from the above mentioned recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Great. Thanks so much for submitting this. My son loved it and he is not easy to please. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I thought this was great and I will probably make into a pot pie tomorrow. I follwed the tips given by "stacey smith" and that is what made it so good! By the way, yes, a skillet would be waaay too small to make this in. Oh and I also used fresh potatoes and thinly sliced them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I read everyone's reviews and decided to be the wise man and not just the smart man...errr woman. so i combined two recipes i found on here and the meal came out perfect. the taste was extraordinary. i added 8 tbs of brown sugar to the meat as it was browing then i added cajun seasonin (4tbs), garlic and onion powder( 2 tsp each). it really was great. but without these ingredients. this meal would have gotten maybe a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I'll give this a rating of barely 3 stars. It was really nothing special, in my opinion. So boring, in fact, that it verges on being worse than average. It was very bland - salt and pepper don't suffice to make it tasty. Maybe kids would like this more than adults like myself. Also, what kind of huge skillet is used for this dish? After browning my ground beef, I could see that I needed a stockpot to cook up the large amount of ingredients for this dish. Other than changing the cookware, I made this recipe by the book, and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
It was easy, but we won't have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States